scp-photo

Esperanza Bicycle Safety Education Center

Esperanza is operated by the City of Albuquerque’s Parks and Recreation Department.

logo

Public Hours

CLOSED 8/5/21 & 8/8/21

Open Bike Clinic (Starting 3/7/2021)

Tuesdays: 12 pm - 8:30pm

Thursdays: 12 pm - 8:30pm

Sundays: 12 pm - 8:30pm

By appointment only. Appointment reservations open at 10:00am on the morning of the Clinic. Please call 505-224-6668 to schedule a bike repair time slot.


Location

5600 Esperanza Drive NW

Albuquerque NM 87105

View map

Contact Information

Phone: (505) 224-6668

Email: [email protected]

Facebook

Esperanza will be CLOSED Thursday August 5, 2021 and Sunday August 8, 2021 due to the USA Cycling Masters Road National Championship.

Our focus is on bicycle education, with the goal of increasing the safety, self-sufficiency, and comfort of recreational, fitness, and utility riders alike.

To meet our goal, Esperanza provides classes and programs of varied types and topics, including bicycle safety, road use and traffic law, mechanics, and riding skills.

Esperanza accepts donations of bikes, bike parts, and other bicycle related items from the community. Donated bikes are refurbished and used in our many programs.

There are several ways that someone needing a bike can earn a bike to fit their transportation needs or get their existing bike back into serviceable condition.

Pop-Up Bike Clinics

While the coronavirus public health emergency has required the closure of the Esperanza Bicycle Safety Education Center, the Esperanza team remains active in the community by hosting Pop-up Bike Clinics around Albuquerque. Find the Esperanza folks at each location by looking for the Yellow Tent. All clinics run from 10:00 am - 3:00 pm and are dependent on the weather. COVID-safe practices, including proper social distancing and group sizes will be strictly enforced.

Date Day Location Address
13-Aug Friday Robinson Park 810 Copper Ave NW
14-Aug Saturday Villela Park 6910 Cherokee Rd NE
20-Aug Friday Heights Community Center 823 Buena Vista Dr SE
21-Aug Saturday Cherry Hills Library 6901 Barstow St NE
27-Aug Friday Robinson Park 810 Copper Ave NW
28-Aug Saturday Villela Park 6910 Cherokee Rd NE
3-Sep Friday Heights Community Center 823 Buena Vista Dr SE
4-Sep Saturday Cherry Hills Library 6901 Barstow St NE
10-Sep Friday Robinson Park 810 Copper Ave NW
11-Sep Saturday Villela Park 6910 Cherokee Rd NE
17-Sep Friday Heights Community Center 823 Buena Vista Dr SE
18-Sep Saturday Cherry Hills Library 6901 Barstow St NE
24-Sep Friday Robinson Park 810 Copper Ave NW
25-Sep Saturday Villela Park 6910 Cherokee Rd NE
1-Oct Friday Heights Community Center 823 Buena Vista Dr SE
2-Oct Saturday Cherry Hills Library 6901 Barstow St NE
8-Oct Friday Robinson Park 810 Copper Ave NW
9-Oct Saturday Villela Park 6910 Cherokee Rd NE
15-Oct Friday Heights Community Center 823 Buena Vista Dr SE
16-Oct Saturday Cherry Hills Library 6901 Barstow St NE
22-Oct Friday Robinson Park 810 Copper Ave NW
23-Oct Saturday Villela Park 6910 Cherokee Rd NE
29-Oct Friday Heights Community Center 823 Buena Vista Dr SE
30-Oct Saturday Cherry Hills Library 6901 Barstow St NE

Donations

Donations of bicycles, bike parts, tools, bike clothes, and other bicycle related products are always welcome. All of the bikes used in our programs are refurbished bikes that have been graciously donated to the shop from the community.

Open Bike Clinic

Open Bike Clinic is a scheduled time in which the center is open to the general public. Anyone who attends has use of the shop's workstations, tools and used bicycle parts needed to repair their bike.

All of the spare parts that are available to Open Bike Clinic patrons are donated from cyclists in the community and all of the mechanical work is performed by the bike's owner with instruction from the staff at Esperanza.

Earn-a-Bike

In this adult-oriented education program, participants can earn a refurbished bike and a helmet. To earn the bike, the participant must attend our Earn-a-Bike class.

For details or to register, contact us.

Virtual Bicycle Tips

Check out these YouTube videos produced by the Esperanza team for some instructions on how to perform some common bicycle repairs:

More information on Bicycling in Albuquerque:

Biking in Albuquerque