Skip to main content

Albuquerque's Sixth Poet Laureate To Be Announced Next Week

Two Year Term Begins July 1.

June 24, 2022 - Mayor Tim Keller and the Albuquerque Poet Laureate Program will announce the selection of the city's sixth poet laureate during a celebration on Wednesday, June 29 from 6:30 to 8 p.m. at the Albuquerque Museum. The evening will include performances by former poet laureates and a 20-minute reading from the newest poet laureate. The event is free and open to the public.

Former poet laureates include Mary Oishi (2020-present); Michelle Otero (2018-2020); Manuel Gonzalez (2016-2018); Jessica Helen Lopez (2014-2016); and Hakim Bellamy (2021-2014).

The Creative Bravos Award winning Albuquerque Poet Laureate Program (APLP) celebrates poetry by recognizing a resident poet who makes meaningful connections, honors, and serves our diverse community, elevates the importance of the art form, and shares poetry with Albuquerque residents. Consisting of an all volunteers, every two years the APLP Organizing Committee brings together various stake holders to choose a new PL. From there the Organizing Committee introduces the selected poet and helps them during their tenure.