Skip to main content

Albuquerque's Newest Poet Laureate To Be Announced

Poet Laureate Organizing Committee selects seventh poet laureate
June 25, 2024

The City of Albuquerque's Department of Arts & Culture and the Albuquerque Poet Laureate Program will announce and introduce the city's seventh poet laureate during a celebration on Sunday, July 7 from 1-2:30 p.m. at the Albuquerque Museum. The program will include readings by former poet laureates and the incoming poet laureate, whose two-year term runs through June 2026.

The event is free and open to the public. 

Former poet laureates include Anna C. Martinez (2022-2024); Mary Oishi (2020-2022); Michelle Otero (2018-2020); Manuel Gonzalez (2016-2018); Jessica Helen Lopez (2014-2016); and Hakim Bellamy (2012-2014). 

The Creative Bravos Award winning Albuquerque Poet Laureate Program (APLP) celebrates poetry by recognizing a resident poet who makes meaningful connections, honors, and serves our diverse community, elevates the importance of the art form, and shares poetry with Albuquerque residents. Consisting of an all volunteers, every two years the APLP Organizing Committee brings together various stake holders to choose a new poet laureate.