Skip to main content

Creative Bravos Living History Project

View information about past Creative Bravos Awards.

The Creative Bravos Award logo

About Creative Bravos

At the heart of Albuquerque, NM, there has been a constant commitment, collaboration, and evolution of art and artistic expression. The educators, contributors, volunteers, and supporters of the arts have given this city the abundance of vibrancy and life that has always been present. The immense and incredible history that the Creative Bravos Awards hold proves that Albuquerque’s art community and creative economy has a far-reaching, undeniably positive influence on our city. Since 1985, the Bravo Awards have celebrated the works and accomplishments of Albuquerque based arts for almost thirty-five years, with its own living history and life seen through the three different variations the Awards have evolved from, and this legacy lives in what they are today.

Help Us Tell Your Story

We are seeking the public's help in telling the stories of our past Creative Bravos Award winners. If you know the history of a past recipient's award, tell us via the link below.

Share What You Know

View Creative Bravos Award Winners By Year

View recipients who received awards in a given year or scroll through this page to view all award recipients.

1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2011 2012 2013 2014 2018 2019 2020 2022



Moncor Bank
Juba Clayton
Ray Graham
Moses Zeber and Patti Harrell Hoech
Terry Moore
The First National Bank
Casa Armijo Community Center


Bill Hayden
Diane Bonnell
First National Bank
David Steinberg
Rick Johnson & Co.
Beth Rudolph
Public Services Company of New Mexico


Marge Armijo
Roy Bidwell
Garcias: Toyota City
Hetzel Auction Associates
Patty Snead
Laura Threet
Albuquerque Living Magazine


Cibola High School Drama Department
Lee Connor
Cleta Honeyman Downey
Wilson Hurley
Montain Bell Foundation
Sara Otto-Diniz
La Compañia de Teatro de Alburquerque


UNM College of Fine Arts
Dale Kempter
New Mexico Arts & Craft Fair
Betty Sabo
Neal Stulberg


Robert Hartung


Albuquerque Public Schools Art in the Open-Janet Kahn and Peter Fitzpatrick
David Chavez
Lillian Dolde
June Leonard
Pamela and Don Michaelis
Jane Sprague


Albuquerque Art Board
John Baggerly
Leonard Felberg
Working Classroom
J.W. Madison
Keleher & McLeod


Gordon Church
Frank McCulloch
Linda Putnam Johnson And Anne Gordon
Evangeline Quintana
The Vortex Theater


Diane and Herbert Denish
Robin Lindquist
Roger Melone
New Mexico Jazz Workshop; director Jim Williams
David Velasquez


George Anselevicius
Escuela Del Sol Montessori, Inc
Jo Kaestner
Armando "Chuy" Martinez
New Mexico Symphony Orchestra
Once Upon a Rhyme Drama Series- Sandia Prep
George Pearl


Fay & Jonathan Abrams
Phil And Barbara Bock
"Marat-Sade" UNM Rodey Theater Productions
Joy Harjo
Christmas Joy Performers Ballet and Jazz Company Florence Pierce
Ellen McCullough-Brabson


Bill Evans Dance Company
Barbara Grothus
Kate Horsley
Nancy Kozikowski
David Lockington
Susan Pearson-Davis
"Seasons of Love" Highland Theater


Richard Currey
The Eyeliners Music Excellence
Paul Ford
Lois Hall
Robert Hooton
Justine Krueger
Celia Dale
The Albuquerque Public School Board of Education


Albuquerque Youth Symphony Program, Inc
Performers Ballet and Jazz Company
Carl Alongi
Harwood Art Center and Plan B Evolving Arts "Vehicle: Art and Transportation in New Mexico"
Gene Frumkin
New Mexico Symphonic Chorus
Miguel Caro Zaragoza
Angie Torres
Albuquerque Civic Light Opera


Tony Hillerman
Keshet Dance Company
Nancy Luecke
Marty Ronish


Rudolfo Anaya
Bruce J. Barber ll
Tom Dodson
Eva Encinias-Sandoval
La Luz Contemporary Latino Art in the United States, National Hispanic Cultural Center
Jackie McGehee
New Mexico Symphony Orchestra
Outpost Productions, In. / Outpost Performancec Space
Ann Ryan
Cricket Appel
Tony Hillerman


Albuquerque Little Theater
Musica Antigua De Albuquerque
Jim Morley
National Dance Institute/ Albuquerque Program
The Tamarind Institute
Judith Van Gieson
Volunteers at KUNM FM
Judith Chazin-Bennahum
New Mexico Symphony Orchestra, Kevin Hagen


Rahim Alhaj
Bill Evans Dance Company
Lee Francis, PhD
Music Is Instrumental Friends of Music, Classical KHFM 95.5, Well Fargo Bank and Albuquerque Public Schools Fine Arts Program
Sheilah Purcell-Garcia
Rainbow Artists
Louise Loomis
Tricklock Company
"Music is Instrumental"


Adobe Theater
James Bratcher
Lana Kroth
James Linnell
Mary Carroll Nelson
Bart Prince
Joe Simon Sando
VSA Arts of New Mexico
Karen Turner


Page Coleman
Katherine Fishback
Mary Montaño
New Grounds Print Workshop
Rick Nickerson
David Oberg
Michael "Mickey" Prokopiak
Jane and Doug Swift
John Trevor


Mary Ann Weems
Janet Kahn
V.B Price
Bernalillo County 1% for Public Art Program
Corrales Cultural Art Council
National Poetry Slam
Jennifer Predock-Linnell
UNM University Chorus
Helen R. Lucero


Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Library System Summer Reading Program
Kip Allen
Pamela and Victor Chavez
Victor Izay
Dr. Shelle VanEtten de Sanchez and the National Hispanic Cultural Center Education Program
New Mexico Arts & Crafts Fair
OFFCenter Community Arts Project
Zoo Music Concert Series


Albuquerque Museum of Art and History's Docent Program
Max Evans
SouthWest Writers
Suzanne M. Johnston
Ann Lerner
Barbara Lohbeck
Salomé Martínez-Lutz
Michiko Masuda Pierce
Alan Paine Radebaugh's Solo Show: "Mass: Off Our World"


2009 2011 2012 2013 2014 


Pat Berrett
516 Arts/ Suzanne Sbarge
Katherine Fishbeck Anthony
Christopher Mead
Leonard Madrid
Opera Southwest
UNM Music Prep School
VOCES Program
Susan Kempter


John Crawford
Marjorie Devon
Patricia Dickinson
Noberta Fresquez
Fusion Theater Company


Carlos Contreras
Festival Flamenco Internacional de Albuquerque
Matthew Greer
Media Arts Collaborative Charter School
Tim Nisly
Sofia Resnik
Mikala Aragon-Sterling
Dr. Shelle VanEtten de Sanchez


Garo Antreasian
Hakim Bellamy
Ed Boles
ISEA2012 Albuquerque "Machine Wilderness"
Robb Janov/Rock & Rhythm Band
Baker Morrow
Marguerite "Mimi" Peavy
Matthew Rembe
Rio Grande Jewelry Supply


Cathryn McGill
Maple Street Dance
Marjorie Neset
Mark Hansen
Pivot VFX
Professor Ted Jojola
Raices KUNM
Route 66 Summerfest
Valerie Martinez
Warehouse 508


2018 2019 2020 2022 


Native Realities
Circo Latino
Ebony Isis Booth
Kei & Molly Textiles
Frank and Pilar
Montgomery Shirley
Maggie Ramos Mullane
Zavier Thompson
Sarita Sol Gonzalez 


Amanda Sutton
John Acosta
Meltdown Studio
OFFCenter Community Arts Project
OT Circus
Revolutions International Theatre Festival
Rujeko Dumbutshena
Sheri Crider
Trupthi Panickor
Frank McCulloch


Zahra Marwan 
Generation Justice 
Jordan Caldwell 
Otilio Ruiz 
Electric Playhouse 
Joe Stephenson 
Albuquerque Poet Laureate Organizing Committee 


Eva Encinias
Margaret Randall
Son Como Son
PAZ Ehecatl
Noé Barnett
Delilah Montoya


Tom Guralnick
Adelio Lechuga
Adrian Gomez
Mariposa Gallery
AirDance New Mexico
Laura Ferrary and Richard Chapman
La Chancla
Sandy Hill
Marya Errin


Raven Chacon
Naomi Elizabeth Montoya
Katie Stone & The Children's Hour
Edible New Mexico
Keif Henley & The Guild Cinema
Dr. Sharmin Dharas & Hotel Zazz
Archetype Tattoo
Sopapilla Productions
Fourteenfifteen Gallery