Air Board Members

The Air Board consists of seven voting members, appointed for three-year terms. Four members are appointed by the City and three members are appointed by the County. The City is designated four members due to its significantly larger population than the County. Board members are selected for their concerns about, and commitment to, local ambient air quality.

View membership on this board.

Voting Members

Bernalillo County Representatives

Kitty Richards, Chair (Second term expires: May 12, 2023)

Board Chair Richards headshotKitty Richards, MPH, MS is the Founder and Policy Director of Healthy Places Consulting, LLC, where she shapes national, state and local policies by conducting assessments on the environmental health and social conditions of underserved neighborhoods. Since moving to New Mexico, Ms. Richards has brought more than $7 million in grants to New Mexico to resolve environmental injustices and health inequities; responded to the health crisis occurring among New Mexico-Mexico border residents by testifying on the need for baseline environmental monitoring and health surveillance before the New Mexico State Legislature, resulting in the creation of the New Mexico Border Health Office; informed land-use policies by providing policy makers with data on predicted health impacts of proposed land-use plans and projects; and co-founded the New Mexico Public Health Institute.

Working with communities along the US-Mexico border and elsewhere, Ms. Richards has more than 30 years’ experience managing environmental and health programs using a holistic approach inclusive of community collaboration, environmental analysis and health assessment, and policy development and implementation. Ms. Richards holds a Master’s degree in Public Health, a Master’s degree in Natural Resource Economics, and a Bachelor’s degree in Geography.


Susan Langner, Vice Chair (First term expires: June 28, 2022)Vice Chair Langner headshot







Judy Calman (First term expires: May 14, 2022)

Board Member Calman headshotJudy moved to New Mexico from Washington DC nearly twenty years ago. She graduated from UNM with degrees in Biology and Philosophy, and also holds a Juris Doctorate from UNM, as well as a Master’s in Environmental Policy from the Vermont Law School. For the first ten years of her career she worked as the attorney for the New Mexico Wilderness Alliance, where she helped protect New Mexico’s public lands by opposing damaging projects in sensitive areas, working with agencies to improve project proposals, nominating special places for federal administrative designations, and through litigation when absolutely necessary. She was also the organization’s lobbyist and worked at the state legislature for policy change at the state level.

Since December 2019 she has been the New Mexico Policy Director for The Audubon Society, where she focuses on state policies regarding wildlife, water, and renewable energy siting, as well as protection of sensitive bird habitat in southeast New Mexico which is heavily threatened by oil and gas. When not working, she is either swimming, hiking, quilting, reading, or drinking good wine with good friends.


City of Albuquerque Representatives

Maxine Paul (Second term expires: April 1, 2024)

Board Member Paul headshotFor the past decade Maxine Paul has worked in the public, private and non-profit sectors in environmental science and policy in New Mexico. Since 2016 she has managed environmental programs (including an air quality control program) to establish an Environmental Division at the Pueblo of Santa Ana's Department of Natural Resources. Among previous positions, she was a major source permit writer for the state's Air Quality Bureau. She has a Master's in Water Resources from UNM and a Bachelor's in Environmental Science from Columbia University.  Maxine lives with her husband Adrian, their son, and their two dogs in Albuquerque.





Lauren Meiklejohn (Second term expires: April 1, 2023)

Board Member Meiklejohn headshotLauren was born and raised in Santa Fe. She graduated from Mora High School in 1999 and went on to UNM to earn a Bachelor of University Studies Degree in Intercultural Communication. While at UNM she worked as a bilingual community organizer advocating for education, housing, and immigrant rights in low-income neighborhoods. In 2010 she completed a Master of Arts in Globalization Studies at Dartmouth College. She subsequently continued work with immigrant families coordinating a family literacy program in low-income neighborhoods in the San Francisco Bay Area. Lauren returned to Albuquerque in 2015. In addition to raising her three boys, Lauren enjoys gardening, hiking, good books and working for the greater good. She is honored to serve ABQ as a member of the Air Board.




Elizabeth Reitzel (First term expires: April 1, 2023)

Board Member Reitzel headshotElizabeth Reitzel is an associate attorney at Miller Stratvert, P.A. Prior to joining Miller Stratvert, Ms. Reitzel worked for the U.S. House of Representatives, Office of Hon. Michelle Lujan Grisham as a Field Representative and was an Intern for the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, Division of Water Resources. Ms. Reitzel is active in professional organizations including the New Mexico LGBTQ Bar Association. Ms. Reitzel is a former Co-President of the New Mexico LGBTQ Bar Association as well as a former liaison between the Indian Law Section and the Young Lawyers Division. Ms. Reitzel is also an heir to two Spanish/Mexican Land Grants in Northern New Mexico and a partner in her family’s ranching operation. One of Ms. Reitzel’s top priorities is to provide the diverse communities living and working in the City of Albuquerque and in Bernalillo County a seat at the table with the AQCB and the EHD as these entities work to ensure all communities have clean air.




Morris "Mo" Chavez (First term expires: April 1, 2024)Board Member Chavez








Planning Commission Liaisons

The City of Albuquerque Environmental Planning Commission and the Bernalillo County Planning Commission may each appoint a non-voting member to be liaisons to the Air Board.

Commissioner Connie Chavez, Bernalillo County Planning Commission Liaison

County Planning Liaison Chavez headshotConnie Chavez is the Executive Director of the Carrie Tingley Hospital Foundation (CTHF), a nonprofit organization whose mission is to enhance the lives of Carrie Tingly Hospital patients and special needs children and their families throughout New Mexico.  Prior to joining CTHF, Ms. Chavez was the Executive Director at the Barrett Foundation, an organization dedicated to providing services to women, children, and families experiencing homelessness.  She also served as the Executive Director for the Sawmill Community Land Trust, working on the development of affordable housing and economic opportunities on the 34-acre site located near Old Town.  Ms. Chavez has a history of community service dedicated to enhancing services and access to affordable housing for underprivileged/underserved communities on a local and national level.  

She currently serves on the Bernalillo County Planning Commission, Board of Trustees at Menaul School, and served two terms as the Chair of the National Community Land Trust Network. 


Commissioner Joseph Cruz: City of Albuquerque Environmental Planning Commission Liaison

J. Cruz headshotJoseph Cruz is the operations manager for Star Paving Co. and currently serves on the City of Albuquerque Environmental Planning Commission. He has a bachelors degree from the UNM Anderson School of Management. He is married with two sons and has competed in 12 triathlons.