Translate Our Site

Executive Staff

Information about the Albuquerque Police Department executive staff.

The Albuquerque Police Department Executive Staff is tasked with providing leadership and direction to the sworn members and civilian employees of the department.

The executive staff consists of the Chief of Police, Assistant Chief and two Deputy Chiefs. The Chief oversees and is responsible for the operation of the entire police department. The Assistant Chief and Deputy Chiefs are assigned to and responsible for the efficient operation of one of three bureaus:

  • Field Services,
  • Criminal Investigations,
  • Professional Accountability.


The Field Services Bureau has many functions. Chief among these is providing uniformed patrol throughout the City of Albuquerque by way of six police substations. The Special Operations Division and the Metro Traffic Division are also part of Field Services.

The Criminal Investigations Bureau consists of the detectives who investigate property crimes, violent crimes, narcotics violations, and organized criminal activity. This bureau also includes the Family Advocacy Center, Crisis Intervention Team and the Metropolitan Forensic Science Center, commonly known as the Crime Lab.

The Professional Accountability Bureau consists of the Internal Affairs Unit, Planning and Policy Division, Communications Division and the Real Time Crime Center. The Police Academy, Police Recruiting and Police Records are also part of this bureau.


    The executive staff provides guidance and accomplishes its mission by performing a myriad of tasks including but not limited to:

      • Oversight,
      • Strategic Planning,
      • Budgeting,
      • Inspection,
      • Training,
      • Policy Development.

      Executive Staff Photographs