Skip to main content

City’s First Permanent Domestic Violence Commission Gets to Work

Commission brings partners and agencies together to address domestic violence in our community .

March 13, 2023

Today, the Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Commission, created in December, will have its first meeting. The commission is a combination of advocates, people with lived experience, and government agencies. Together, the group will work to analyze and address domestic violence in order to ensure an effective system of prevention and intervention that serves survivors and at risk groups.

The members of the commission are:

  • Teresa Garcia, Chair, Lived-Experience Survivor
  • Stacy Burleson, Co-Chair, Lived-Experience Survivor
  • Chearie Alipat, New Mexico Asian Family Center
  • Angel Charley, Coalition to Stop Violence Against Native Women
  • Sara Yvonne “Bonnie” Escobar, Enlace Comunitario
  • Jodie Jaramillo, Rape Crisis Center of Central New Mexico
  • Gail Starr, Albuquerque Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners 
  • Victor Valdez, Albuquerque Police Department Superintendent of Reform
  • Jay Ratliff, Albuquerque Police Department Deputy Commander
  • Autumn Neas, Bernalillo County Sheriff’s Department Sergeant
  • Amber Chavez Baker, Second Judicial District Family Court Judge
  • Amanda Ellis, Albuquerque Community Safety Department
  • Ellen Braden, Family and Community Services Department
  • Beatriz Valencia, Office of Equity and Inclusion
  • Isez Roybal, Office of Mayor Tim Keller, Policy
  • Anastacia VanOrman, New Mexico Children, Youth and Families Department

“Having a permanent commission in place is an important step toward addressing the root causes of domestic violence in our city,” said Mayor Tim Keller. “This group is made up of individuals who are dedicated to serving our community and creating a better support system for victims and survivors of domestic violence.”

The Commission will meet on the 2nd Monday of every month from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. beginning today, March 13. More meeting information is available on the commission's webpage.