Translate Our Site

Arts Board

The Arts Board consists of nine members that represent each of the nine City Council Districts and two at-large members

At present, the Board meets the third Wednesday of every month. This schedule is subject to change. Meeting dates and rooms are announced publicly, two weeks in advance of each meeting.

As mandated by the Art in Municipal Places Ordinance, members include persons widely known for their professional competence and experience in the visual arts, and knowledgeable lay persons. Each member serves a staggered three year term.

The central objective of the Board is "to promote and encourage private and public programs to further the development and public awareness of, and interest in, the visual arts and fine crafts and cultural properties."

The central responsibility of each member is to serve as Board liaison to Artwork Planning Committees. The full Board makes selection recommendations to the Mayor.

Arts Board Meeting Information

The Arts Board meets every third Wednesday of the month at 4 p.m. in room 7026, DMD Conference room, 7th floor of the City/County Center. Open to the public.

Open Meetings Resolution

The Albuquerque Arts Board follows the State of New Mexico Open Meetings Act which is approved annually 

Board Member Title & District Term Expires

Jonathan Sanchez

Jonathan represents District 2. He studied art and design at New Mexico State University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts. He considers himself an illustrator first and foremost, although he has engaged in various art mediums for most of his life. He designs and screen prints local movie posters and concert posters for bands. He is currently employed at the Albuquerque Journal as a graphic artist. His favorite public artwork is "Kick Flip Sequence" by Michael Whiting.

District 1 July 31, 2017

Angus Macpherson

Angus represents District 2. He has been painting full time since 1983. His studio has always been in New Mexico and he enjoys painting in Albuquerque's north valley. He has published six books or art in conjunction with various galleries. He has also taught several painting workshops in Albuquerque, Taos and at the Art Colony in Alabama.

District 2


July 31, 2016

Steve D. Gallegos

Steve represents District 3. He has served in state government as the Deputy Secretary of the Department of Labor and organizing the Criminal Justice Collaborative at the Mid-Region Council of Governments. Steve also served as both a City Councilor and County Commissioner. His interests include wood turning and oil painting. His favorite public artwork is "Southwest Pieta" by Luis Jimenez.

District 3 July 31, 2016

Ilona A. Schwab

Ilona represents District 4. She has a Bachelors Degree in English and a Master's Degree in Educational Administration. She is a member of the New Mexico Watercolor Society. Her favorite public artwork is "Los Osos del Canyon" by Reynaldo Rivera near the Bear Canyon Arroyo because it makes her look twice for it - nestled among the rocks and natural fauna ... plus, how can you not love a parent and child?

District 4 July 31, 2017

Alaina E. Wiwi

Alaina represents District 5. She is is currently pursuing a degree in studio art from the  University of New Mexico.  She has  experience working with the Exhibit Design teams at the New Mexico museum of Natural History and Science.  

District 5 July 31, 2019

Stanley Allen

Stanley represents District 6. He was a tour guide at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts for five years before moving to New Mexico in 2006. Since moving to Albuquerque, he has served on the Nob Hill Neighborhood Association Board and was President from 2011-2012. He also volunteers at the Albuquerque BioPark. His favorite public artwork is "More Than a Firefighter" by PAZ, at the Fire Department Administration Building.

District 6 July 31, 2018

Alan Radebaugh

Alan represents District 7. He is a professional artist working in a variety of genres and holds a Bachelor of Fine Art from UNM in printmaking. He has been involved in numerous art exhibitions in Albuquerque and Santa Fe. His favorite public artwork is "Dawn Light" by Ed Vega, on San Mateo near Constitution.

District 7


July 31, 2016

Dr. W. Douglas Mills

Dr. Mills represents District 8.  He is a New Mexican native and a lover of New Mexico art.  He holds a doctoral degree in American History which includes extensive readings in early modern European Art and Western Art.  

District 8

July 31, 2019

Janet Thompson

Janet represents District 9. She has a Master's Degree in American History from University of Pennsylvania and her MBA from Pace University in New York. She is involved with the Rotary Club, the Albuquerque Youth Symphony, and the Salvation Army of Greater Albuquerque. Her favorite public artworks are the Wilson Hurley landscapes "La Cueva Sunset, East and West" at the Sunport. They remind her what she is leaving on the way out of Albuquerque and make her smile when she returns.

District 9 July 31, 2017

William Sabatini, AIA

Bill is an "at-large" board member. He is the lead Design Principal for Dekker/Perich/Sabatini Architects. He has a undergraduate education in fine arts and a Master of Architecture degree from UNM. In addition to Bill's building design strengths his expertise extends to site master planning where his design approach addresses the importance of the spaces created between buildings as equally, if not more important, in creating cohesive, integrated, compelling environments.

At-Large July 31, 2016

Corinne Thevenet

Corinne is an "at-large" board member. She has a Bachelor's degree in Education from Brooklyn College and is a former teacher. She is a foundation member of, as well as a docent, at the Albuquerque Museum of Art and History, and tries to attend all of Curator Andrew Connor's talks. She is a former board member of the Child Guidance Center and a past NM State Rep. candidate. She is also an avid art collector. Her favorite public artwork is "Dawn Light" by Ed Vega.

At Large


July 31, 2016