Arts Board

The Arts Board consists of nine members that represent each of the nine City Council Districts and two at-large members.

At present, the Board meets the third Wednesday of every month. This schedule is subject to change. Meeting dates and rooms are announced publicly, two weeks in advance of each meeting.

As mandated by the Art in Municipal Places Ordinance, members include persons widely known for their professional competence and experience in the visual arts, and knowledgeable lay persons. Each member serves a staggered three year term.

The central objective of the Board is "to promote and encourage private and public programs to further the development and public awareness of, and interest in, the visual arts and fine crafts and cultural properties."

The central responsibility of each member is to serve as Board liaison to Artwork Planning Committees. The full Board makes selection recommendations to the Mayor.

Arts Board Meeting Information

The Arts Board meets every third Wednesday of the month at 4 p.m. in room 7096, DMD Conference room, 7th floor of City Hall. Open to the public. The public can also join via Zoom.

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

View meeting agendas and minutes for the Albuquerque Arts Board.

Open Meetings Resolution

The Albuquerque Arts Board follows the State of New Mexico Open Meetings Act which is approved annually.

2023 Open Meetings Resolution-Arts Board

Board Members

View membership on this board.

Board Member Title & District Term Expires



District 1  

Cara Gordon Potter

Cara represents District 2. Cara is a small business owner and supporter of the arts. She has a BA from Vassar College with a major in Art History. She was a Fellow at the Whitney Museum and interned at the Metropolitan Museum. She holds an MBA and continues to support small businesses as a Board member of WESST.


District 2

July 31, 2025

Jessica Montoya Cage

Jessica represents District 3. She is a native New Mexican and attended the University of New Mexico where she  received her Bachelor of Liberal Arts with focus on Media Arts and Arts Management.  While completing her undergrad, she interned with the City of Albuquerque's Public Art Division, later becoming a full-time contractor with the division.  She has worked on various film projects through out the city.  Recently completed her Master of Science in Digital Audience Strategy from Arizona State University.  She is the Marketing Specialist for the New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority.  Jessica enjoys being active in the art and film community and helping others discover the beauty and unique qualities Albuquerque has to offer.

District 3


July 31, 2023

Woody Duncan

Woody represents District 4. He is a past president of the New Mexico Watercolor Society, currently serves as the national president for the Retired Art Educators and continually serves as a docent at the Albuquerque Art Museum. Woody also serves on the boards of both Master Works of New Mexico and Art in the Schools.

District 4 July 31, 2024


District 5  

Christopher B. MacQueen

Chris represents District 6. He is an arts administrator, disability rights advocate, artist, curator and educator.

District 6 July 31, 2021

Emilie M. De Angelis

Emilie represents District 7. For more than 20 years, she has helped nonprofits in the museum, arts, culture and education fields find and connect with donors to achieve major milestones and achievements. Most recently working in Chicago with the famed Steppenwolf Theatre's capital expansion and managing donor requests for the Modern Wing expansion at the Art Institute of Chicago. A fourth-generation New Mexican, Emilie moved back to Albuquerque with her husband and son in 2016 to reunite with family and rediscover sunshine. She sits on the board of FUSION Theatre Company and is Co-Chair of the Builder Committee for the Harwood Art Center and Escuela del Sol Montessori School.

District 7


July 31, 2024

Charlotte Schoenmann

Charlotte represents District 8. She is passionate about art, both visual and performance. She worked for 15 years at the J. Paul Getty Trust in Los Angeles where she was a project manager for the construction for the Getty Arts Center. She has been a board member and or volunteer of several organizations throughout Albuquerque including: St. Chads Foundation, Sunset Mesa Schools, Albuquerque Little Theater and the New Mexico Museum of Natural History Foundation.

District 8

July 31, 2024

Dorothy Stermer

Dorothy represents District 9. She is a proud native of New Mexico and attended the University of New Mexico where she received her Bachelor and Masters of Science degrees in 1988 and 1989 in Chemical Engineering. Dorothy grew up in a family of artist, and has a rich understanding of the dual needs of the artists to express their creativity and to run a business. She appreciates artists' contributions to the public and know they are the heart and soul of the community-at large.

District 9 

July 31, 2023

Dr. Bernadine Marie Hernandez

Bernadine is an educator, community activist, writer, and artist.  She is an Assistant professor of American Literary History at the University of New Mexico.  She has been working the community for the last 10 years on issues relates to migration, the border and how New Mexico is responding to incarcerated populations and detained migrants.  She is the co-founding member of the Fronteristxs artist collective, a collective of artists in New Mexico working with community advocates to end migrant detention and to abolish the carceral state. 


July 31, 2022

LouAnne Byrd

LouAnne is an artist who has dedicated many years of service to various organizations to benefit the community overall.  She has a deep appreciation for the joy, emotion and beauty in the arts and believes it can be a source of pride for the community, while also serving as an opportunity to uplift and bring people together.  

At-Large July 31, 2024