Translate Our Site

Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees

Information about the Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees, including meeting minutes.

Meeting Dates

Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees meetings are open to the public. Meetings are held bi-monthly, beginning in February on the second Wednesday of the month at 11:30 a.m. in the Albuquerque Museum Conference Room.

Albuquerque Museum exterior


Click to download a PDF of the Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees Minutes.



Archived records can be obtained by contacting
Patti Gonzales at [email protected] 
or by calling 505-764-6512.

For more information: Director
Albuquerque Museum



The Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees is an advisory board whose primary mission is to provide advice to, and advocacy for, the Museum.

View City Ordinance 10-4-1-4 that governs the Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees.

Ordinance 10-4-1-4 (excerpt)
"A public museum of the city is hereby established for the purpose of disseminating knowledge and appreciation of art and history by establishing and maintaining a museum and related facilities in the City of Albuquerque; by collecting and preserving objects of artistic and historic interest; by aiding in protecting historic sites, works of art from needless destruction; by providing facilities for research and publication; by offering instruction and opportunities for aesthetic enjoyment to the public; and by encouraging continued excellence of the cultural life of the community."

The Board will be composed of nine members, each of whom is appointed to fill a designated position. All appointments require the advice and consent of the City Council. It is intended that the areas of art and history will be represented by membership on the Board.


1. Mr. Wayne G. Chew
Representing Mayor at Large
Term: 07/31/2021

2. Mr. Harold Behl
Representing Mayor at Large
Term: 07/31/2020

3. Ms. Joni M. Palmer, PhD
Representing Mayor at Large
Term: 07/31/2020

4. Ms. Pamela L. Weese Powell, Vice-Chair 
Board Representative
Term: 07/31/2020

5. Ms. Helen Atkins
Board Representative
Term: 07/31/2020

6. Ms. Judith N. Suiter, Chair
Board Representative
Term: 07/31/2020

7. Ms. Maria Griego-Raby
Foundation Board President
Term: 07/31/2019

8. Mr. Alan F. Weitzel
Foundation Board Rep.
Term: 07/31/2022

9. Ms. Beverly R. Bendicksen
Foundation Board Rep.
Term: 07/31/2022

To apply to serve on the Albuquerque Museum Board of Trustees, click here.