Translate Our Site

Citizens' Independent Salary Commission

Per Article XVIII adopted at the Regular Municipal Election on October 6, 2009, a Citizens' Independent Salary Commission is created with the authority to set the salaries of the Mayor and City Councilors.

The Commission has the authority to evaluate the annual salaries and determine whether they should be increased or decreased.  The Commission has authority to consider all factors relevant to the salaries.

(a) The Commission shall consist of five members selected by the Accountability in Government Committee.  All members shall be residents of the City of Albuquerque and shall not be an officer, official or employee of the city or an immediate family member of the same.  The term of each member shall be for four years, unless a member is selected to fill a vacancy, and no member shall be appointed to more than two terms.  The initial terms of members of the newly established Commission shall be staggered; the initial term for two members shall be two years and the initial term of three members shall be four years.

(b) At least one year prior to each regular municipal election, the Commission shall review the salaries paid by the city to the Mayor and Councilors.  If after such review the Commission determines that the salary should be increased or decreased, the Commission shall file a written salary schedule with the City Clerk indicating the proposed salary.

(c) Changes to the salaries shall not be effective for the incumbent Mayor and Councilors, but shall be effective at the beginning of the next term.

(d) Any change to salaries recommended by the Commission shall be subject to the referendum procedures as provided for in Article III, Section 2 of this Charter.

(e) All meetings of the Commission shall be open to the public and subject to the Open Meetings Act, Sections 10-15-1 et seq. NMSA 1978.

Commission Members:

Name     Term End Date
Alan M. Schwartz      2020
Vacant      2020
Jose Antonio Ponce      2022
Fred D. Pugh      2022
Duane Trythall      2022

Upcoming Events

Agenda: March 19, 2019

Agenda: February 5, 2019

Agenda: January 15, 2019

Agenda: October 30, 2018

Agenda:  February 9, 2017

Agenda:  January 5, 2017

Agenda:  December 8, 2016 - Cancelled

Final Report - March 19, 2019

CISC Final Report and Recommendations

Final Report - February 9, 2017

CISC Final Report and Recommendations

Final Report - February 10, 2015

CISC Final Report and Recommendations

Final Report - February 26, 2013

CISC Final Report and Recommendations

E-Mail Address

[email protected]

If you have additional questions contact:

Alan Schwartz, Chairman - 505-768-3150

Sample Questionnaire:


Open Meetings Act - Resolution

Open Meetings Act



March 19, 2019

January 15, 2019

February 9, 2017

January 5, 2017

October 13, 2016

January 21, 2015

January 13, 2015

December 1, 2014

October 23, 2014

March 1, 2013 (Virtual Meeting)

February 26, 2013

January 22, 2013

December 11, 2012

November 27, 2012

October 30, 2012

March 17, 2011 (Virtual Meeting)

March 17, 2011

March 14, 2011

March 3, 2011 (Forum)

February 18, 2011

February 15, 2011

February 11, 2011

January 27, 2011

January 13, 2011

December 9, 2010 (Forum)

December 9, 2010

November 18, 2010

October 26, 2010

October 13, 2010

September 30, 2010