Water Protection Advisory Board

Water Protection Advisory Board

The Water Protection Advisory Board (WPAB) is a committee established through joint ordinance of the City of Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, and the Water Utility Authority.


The WPAB has four main objectives:

  1. Advise on matters pertaining to ground and surface water protection
  2. Oversee the Water Quality Protection Policy and Action Plan
  3. Advocate for the protection of ground and surface water quality through consistent policy making
  4. Promote ideas, strategies and policies that are effective in protecting surface and ground water quality


There are nine members that comprise the WPAB:

Board Member Role Appointed by Term
Steve Glass Chair Bernalillo County 8/28/2012 – 8/28/2015
Elizabeth H. Richards Vice Chair City of Albuquerque 4/21/2014 - 8/17/2016
Michael J. Bitner ABCWUA 3/20/2013 - 3/20/2016
John S. Derr Bernalillo County 8/14/2012 – 8/14/2015
Pete Domenici Jr. City of Albuquerque 10/7/2012 - 10/7/2015
Kerry J. Howe Joint City-County 9/12/2014 - 9/12/2017
Caroline Scruggs Bernalillo County 10/24/2012 – 10/24/2015
Jennifer Thacher ABCWUA 3/19/2012 - 3/19/2015
Erik K. Webb City of Albuquerque 4/21/2014-8/17/2016


Legislative Authority



2012 WPAB Annual Report
2011 WPAB Annual Report
2010 WPAB Annual Report



WPAB Meeting Schedule