Accountability Government Oversight Committee

Information about the Accountability Government Oversight Committee.

§2-10-5 of the Accountability in Government Ordinance creates the Accountability in Government Oversight (AGO) Committee. The AGO Committee is a management committee and not a public board, commission or committee and is not subject to the Open Meetings Act. The AGO Committee does not have authority to formulate public policy. One of the primary functions of the AGO Committee is to approve all audit and investigation reports. The AGO Committee also conducts the applicant search and makes a recommendation to the City Council on the selection of the Inspector General.

The AGO Committee consists of five members from the community at large. The Mayor and one City Councilor, appointed annually by the City Council President, shall be nonvoting ex-officio members. The Mayor and the appointed City Councilor may send designees to the Committee meetings. At least one AGO Committee member shall be a CPA, one shall have a law enforcement or law background and one Committee member shall be a professional management consultant.

As vacancies on the AGO Committee occur, the City Council and Mayor will alternatively appoint new members. All appointments are subject to City Council approval. The AGO Committee members are appointed for staggered terms of three years unless an appointment is to fill a vacancy.

The following individuals are members of the AGO Committee:

Name Term Expires Representative
Edmund E. Perea, Esq. Sept. 1, 2022 Law Enforcement
Jack C. Emmons Sept. 1, 2024 At large
Victor Griego Sept. 1, 2022 Management
Shawn L. Penman Sept. 1, 2024 At Large
Johnny I. Mangu Sept. 1, 2022 CPA
Sanjay Bhakta June 30, 2022 Mayor Appointed Ex Officio Member
Diane Gibson June 30, 2022 Council Appointed Ex Officio Member