International Ballooning Hall of Fame

A Balloon Museum Exhibition Featuring Official Inductees from Around the World

Féderation Aéronautique Internationale Ballooning Commission International Hall of Fame

HOF Wide View

With an emphasis on the science, technology, engineering, and math-related contributions of world renowned balloonists, the redesigned International Ballooning Hall of Fame at the Anderson Abruzzo Albuquerque International Balloon Museum, delves into the groundbreaking advancements and achievements of Hall of Fame inductees.

Watch: The FAI Ballooning Commission International Hall Of Fame - 2019 Induction Ceremony

The Ballooning Commission recognized Paolo Bonanno and Norman Pritchard for their groundbreaking advancements and achievements in ballooning.  Read Press Release: Two Pioneers Recognized and Inducted Into the FAI Ballooning Commission International Hall of Fame


The World Air Sports Federation's International Ballooning Commission, or Comité International d'Aérostation, founded the Hall of Fame in 1994 to honor those who have made significant contributions to ballooning and airships, including those who have excelled in business, history, design, engineering, competitions, and record-setting. The Balloon Museum has been home to the International Ballooning Hall of Fame since 2011.

The multi-media exhibition includes many unique and never-before-seen artifacts from the Balloon Museum's extensive collection, including burners, instruments, and inflation devices. A centerpiece touchscreen interactive, nearly 8 feet tall, invites visitors to learn more about all of the inductees.

HOF Interactive

The exhibition traces the stories of inductees, beginning with those who launched the age of human aviation over two centuries ago through ballooning. Since then, people have pushed the technology of ballooning and lighter-than-air (LTA) aviation in order to reach new heights, gain new knowledge, and advance human capabilities.

The International Ballooning Hall of Fame recognizes and memorializes the accomplishments of these legendary aeronauts.