Urban Enhancement Trust Fund Committee

The Urban Enhancement Trust Fund Committee is a citizen's committee that consists of nine members that represent each of the nine City Council Districts and two at-large members.

The UETF Committee is responsible for establishing the evaluation criteria for the funding applications, and carrying out the review process. They are appointed by the Mayor with confirmation by the City Council. They are all volunteers and can serve up to two consecutive three year terms.

At present, the Committee meets the third Friday of the month. While the bulk of their work takes place every two years during the review cycle, they meet as needed, typically every two months, to share reports on funded projects and keep up on arts and cultural issues. This schedule is subject to change. Meeting dates and rooms are announced publicly, two weeks in advance of each meeting.

The central objective of the Committee is "to enhance and enrich the culture of the city."

UETF Committee Meeting Information

The UETF Committee meets the third Friday of the month, as needed, at 11:30 a.m.

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

View meeting agendas and minutes for the Urban Enhancement Trust Fund.

Open Meetings Resolution

The UETF Committee follows the State of New Mexico Open Meetings Act which is approved annually.

2022 Open Meetings Act Resolution-Urban Enhancement Trust Fund

Committee Members

View membership on this Committee.

Committee Member Title & District Term Expires


District 1  

Julia Youngs

Julia represents District 2. Her life’s work at the intersection of people and place, with a vision for thriving, equitable, creative communities for all. She currently resides in Albuquerque and serves as a Program Manager for Microsoft’s Entrepreneurship for Positive Impact Program (via Simplicity Consulting). In this role she supports the Entrepreneurship for Positive Impact team to connect impact-driven entrepreneurs with the resources they need to succeed in tackling pressing global problems. In all of her work she is committed to supporting equitable and responsive programming that grows alongside communities.

Outside of her professional work, Julia is Doctoral candidate at Oxford University in their Sustainable Urban Development program where her research focuses on the tension between ecofascist and border abolition movements in New Mexico. Outside of academia, she has worked for many years in Albuquerque as a stage manager, previously with Fusion Theatre Company and the National Institute of Flamenco. She has worked for many years as a community arts organizer with organizations like EmergeABQ and Umbrella Week, and she is on the Board of the Downtown Arts & Cultural District.

District 2 February 1, 2023


District 3  

Joshua Hoffman CFE

Joshua represents District 4. He graduated from the University of New Mexico with a Bachelor’s Degree in Art History. After graduation, he moved to London, England where he earned a Master’s Degree in Contemporary Art History, with an emphasis on technology-based art. After working in various financial and accounting positions, and earning several professional certifications, he began working for the State of New Mexico as a Certified Fraud Examiner in the Tax Fraud Investigations Division of the Taxation and Revenue Department. With training in, and a life-long passion for the arts and professional experience in many aspects of finance, Joshua hopes to bring his knowledge and enthusiasm to civic duty through an active engagement with people of Albuquerque.

District 4 February 1, 2023


District 5  

Stanley Allen

Stanley represents District 6.  He moved to New Mexico in 2006 having lived in the Washington, D.C. area for 33 years.  In Washington, he was a tour guide at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.  He served on the staff of two former Members of the U. S House of Representatives and to former D.C. Mayor, Sharon Pratt Kelly. 

After moving to Albuquerque, he worked for former U. S. Senator Jeff Bingaman.  He has served on the Nob Hill Neighborhood Association Board and was President from 2011-2012; Chair of the NM Gay Men’s Chorus from 2011-2013; member of the Albuquerque Arts Board from 2013-2018. Stanley is now retired.

District 6


February 1, 2024

Madalena Salazar

Madalena represents District 7. She serves as the Executive Director of youth-serving, arts and social justice nonprofit, Working Classroom. She is also the founder and principal of the Albuquerque-based creative consulting business 3rd Space Vision LLC. Previously, she was the Social Responsibility and Inclusion Programs Manager for WESTAF, and the first Latino cultural programs coordinator for the Denver Art Museum. She has been an educator/facilitator, administrator, consultant and advocate centering cultural and racial justice and has worked with the Brooklyn Museum, the Community College of Denver, and the University of New Mexico, the Denver Botanic Gardens, El Museo de las Americas, Su Teatro, Explora, and Solutions Journalism Network. She is a moderator for the Albuquerque-based Coffee + Creatives group and was a member of Denver’s Commission on Cultural Affairs and the Denver Art Museum’s Latino Alliance. She was a founding member of Denver’s LatinasGive! Philanthropic group; an alumnus of WESTAF’s Emerging Leaders of Color; and co-author of a chapter in Multiculturalism and Art Museums Today. She received a bachelor’s degree in anthropology and a master’s degree in art history from the University of New Mexico.

District 7 February 1, 2023

John Garrity

John represents District 8.

District 8 February 1, 2023

Andrew Lipman

Andrew represents District 9. He currently serves as President on the Four Hills Village Association Board and Vice President of the District 9 East Gateway Coalition. He previously served as the Board Vice President of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Center (MLKMC). He also chaired the MLKMC Task Force for Public Safety and served as Chair of the Albuquerque Police Oversight Task Force. Additionally, he is the founding treasurer and former President of the Board of the Holocaust and Intolerance Museum of New Mexico and a founding member and former state chair of the New Mexico Human Rights Coalition. He served for eleven years as the Executive Director of the Jewish Federation of New Mexico where he received three Human Rights Awards from the City of Albuquerque. 

District 9


February 1, 2024

Gabrielle Uballez

At-Large February 1, 2024

Nancy Zastudil

Nancy is an independent editor, writer, and curator working toward equitable representation in and access to the arts. Currently, she is the Southwest editor for Hyperallergic, and from 2018 to 2021, she was the gallery director at Tamarind Institute where she curated exhibitions around themes of identity, belonging, and narrative. She specializes in editing artist books and exhibition catalogs, and she writes about the visual arts for publications such as Arts + Culture Texas Magazine, Art Lies, Hyperallergic, Southwest Contemporary, and more. Nancy regularly participates in artist award juries and grant proposal reviews, most recently for the Mid-America Arts Alliance, the Fleishhacker Foundation, Creative Capital, and the Harpo Foundation. She received her MA in Curatorial Practice from California College of the Arts in 2007 and her BFA in Painting and Drawing from The Ohio State University in 2001.

At-Large May 1, 2023