Translate Our Site

Community Policing Council

Information about the Community Policing Council.

Membership: Apply Today

About Community Policing Councils

Community Policing Councils are designed to foster better policing and community practices and community-police relationships. The six Community Policing Councils in Albuquerque coincide with the six Albuquerque Police area commands.

The goal of each Community Policing Council is to engage in candid, detailed and meaningful dialogue between Albuquerque Police and the citizens they serve. Councils are independent from the City and Department. They are encouraged to formally recommend changes to Albuquerque Police Department policies and procedures. They are also asked to make recommendations and identify concerns, problems, successes and opportunities within each area command and for the department as a whole.

Each of the six Community Policing Councils is composed of members from the community and voting members. Voting members must reside within or have businesses within the boundaries of their area command. All attendees (members) are encouraged to submit recommendations, provide input concerning recommendations, ask questions and submit topics for discussion.

Meetings are open to the public and everyone is welcome to attend.

Community Policing Council Meetings

Note: Community Policing Council meeting times and locations can change.

Area Command Meeting Times Meeting Information
Foothills Command

Meets 6 p.m. to 7:50 p.m. on the second Monday of each month.
Council Chair: Rod Kontny
Email: [email protected]

Holiday Park Community Center
11710 Comanche NE
View map
Northeast Command

Meets from 6:30 to 8 p.m. on the second Tuesday of every month.
Council Chair: Eric Olivas
Email: [email protected]

North Domingo Baca Multigenerational Center
7521 Carmel NE
View map

Northwest Command

Meets from 6 to 8 p.m. on the third Wednesday of every month
Council Chair: Eric Jackson
Email: [email protected]

Don Newton - Taylor Ranch Community Center
4900 Kachina St NW
 View map

Southeast Command

Meets from 6 to 8 p.m. on the third Thursday of every month.
Council Chair: Ron Halbgewachs
Email: [email protected]

Cesar Chavez Community Center
7505 Kathryn SE
View map
Southwest Command

Meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. on the second Wednesday of every month.
Council Interim Chair: Michael Zocholl
Email: [email protected]

Alamosa Community Center
6900 Gonzales Rd SW

View map

Valley Command

Meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of every month.
Council Interim Chair: Rowan Wymark
Email: [email protected]

Wells Park Community Center
500 Mountain Road NW
 View map