Translate Our Site

Police Oversight Board Member Profiles

Read about the current POB Members and how they make a difference in our community.

Contacting POB Board Members

Contact all current members of the Police Oversight Board by sending an email to: [email protected]

The Police Oversight Board (POB) is a Nine-Member board appointed by the City Council. Members are appointed for three-year staggered terms and are eligible for reappointment for an additional full term. An initial one-year appointment for staggering purposes does not count as a term for purposes of reappointment.

Download the 2018 Police Oversight Board Meeting Schedule.

Board Member Profiles

Leonard Waites, Chair 

Mr. Leonard Waites is a lifelong resident of Albuquerque which drives his interest in serving on the Police Oversight Board. Mr. Waites wants to ensure the safety of the City and assist in making the Police Oversight Board a fair and impartial system for the citizens of Albuquerque and the Albuquerque Police Department. Mr. Waites is a member of the NAACP and previously served on the Police Oversight Task Force. His areas of interest include mending the relationship between the community and police department and building a relationship between the Board and Chief of Police, as it will be important to correcting and implementing policies and procedures.

Email: [email protected]

Term: Appointed Jan. 17, 2018, Expires Feb. 2, 2021.

Chantal M. Galloway, Vice Chair

Ms. Chantal M. Galloway is currently a Vice-President of Business Services. Ms. Galloway holds a BBA from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, as well as an MBA from the University of New Mexico. Ms. Galloway's interest in serving the Police Oversight Board comes from her desire to be active and serve her community. Ms. Galloway has a background with for-profit and non-profit organizations and hopes to bring her skills of obtaining outcomes wherein vested partied have their concerns or opinions heard and acted upon.

Email: [email protected] Term: Appointed Nov. 20, 2017, Expires Feb. 2, 2019.

Johnny J. Armijo

Mr. Johnny J. Armijo is currently the Special Projects Coordinator/Manager at the Bernalillo County Housing Department. Mr. Armijo's interest in serving on the Police Oversight Board comes from his 42 years of social service experience and interest in working with communities and families. Mr. Armijo's experience is wide ranged and partly includes: Various capacities within Youth Development, Inc; State of Utah, Department of Youth Corrections; Minority Human Service Training Program; Salt Lake County Mental Health; Bernalillo County Parks and Recreation Department; Bernalillo County Housing Department. Other volunteer community work includes current President of the Towers Home Owners Association, Past Chair of the Albuquerque Partnership, past Chair of the Albuquerque/Bernalillo County DWI Planning Council. During his career, he has received a multitude of awards and special recognition for his community work.

Email: [email protected]

Term: Appointed Jan. 17, 2018, Expires Feb. 2, 2021.

Eric H. Cruz

Mr. Eric Cruz is currently the Acquisition Program Manager at Kirtland Air Force Base. Mr. Cruz's unique set of knowledge, skills, and abilities can be an asset to the Police Oversight Board. They include: program management experience of setting and executing goals, working in a government setting, working with a team to achieve common goals, working in groups with dissenting opinions, education and training in leadership and communication skills. He is a resident of an area of Albuquerque that has high police activity.

Email: [email protected]

Term: Appointed Feb. 2, 2015, Expires Feb. 2, 2019.

Joanne Fine

Ms. Joanne Fine has been a member of the Police Oversight Board since 2015. She has served as a member of the Albuquerque Police Department Public Safety Partnership for several years which worked on creating partnerships between the community and Albuquerque Police Department. Ms. Fine also served as Project Director for developing and opening the Family Advocacy Center which is a partnership between Albuquerque Police Department and United Way that serves victims of interpersonal violence. Her experience in developing the Family Advocacy Center provided her with the opportunity to work with human service providers, the courts, the DA's office, underserved communities, and law enforcement, which can be an asset to the Police Oversight Board.

Email: [email protected]

Term: Appointed Feb. 2, 2015, Expires Feb. 2, 2020.

Dr. William J. Kass

Dr. William J. Kass is currently a retired physical scientist. As a private citizen, he has been active in following Albuquerque Police Department reform efforts for nearly five years. He has met with victim's family members; attended meetings with the Department of Justice, the Independent Monitor Team, the City of Albuquerque Council, the Mayor's Initiative, the Police Oversight Task Force and former and current versions of the Police Oversight Board. He has also attended several area Community Policing Councils. His interests are primarily in policy and community outreach. He serves as the chair of Policy and Procedure Review Committee and is a member of the Community Outreach subcommittee. He believes that police policy is public policy and the community should have a voice in creating that policy. That can only be done if the community is informed and engaged and Albuquerque Police Department responds positively to their concerns.

Email: [email protected]

Term: Appointed 06-19-2017, Expires Feb. 2, 2020.

James (Jim) A. Larson

Mr. James A. Larson is retired from Sandia National Labs and has a Bachelors and a Masters Degree in Business Administration from the University of New Mexico. Mr. Larson's interest in serving on the Board comes from his prior experience in law enforcement and management positions. Mr. Larson is active in other areas of civilian police oversight by participating in Northeast Area Command CPC meetings and POB subcommittee meetings. 

Email: [email protected] 

Term: Appointed 02-05-2018, Expires 02-02-2020

Valerie St. John

Ms. Valerie St. John is currently self employed with V. St. John Investigations, performing pre-employment background checks, contract work for an immigration and self defense attorney, among other legal and investigative duties. Ms. St. John previously worked in the District Attorney's Office as a Prosecution Assistant. Ms. St. John's community activities have included serving as President of Spruce Park Neighborhood Association, volunteering at Catholic Charities, and membership of the Cesar Chavez Committee.

Email: [email protected]

Term: Appointed 06-19-2017, Expires 02-02-2019

Chelsea N. Van Deventer

Ms. Chelsea Van Deventer was formerly a trial attorney at the Public Defenders Office. Ms. Van Deventer has a Bachelors and Law degree from UNM. Ms. Van Deventer's interest in serving on the Board comes from the meaningful discussion on law enforcement and communities that is happening nationally and locally, and recognizes the POB is the perfect opportunity to problem solve and move forward. Ms. Van Deventer finds the Board's work crucial and is interested in helping the Board execute its oversight and policy analysis functions. 

Email: [email protected]

Term: Appointed 02-05-2018, Expires 02-02-2021