Translate Our Site

Chatter Summer Concert Series Online

Albuquerque Museum presents the 11th anniversary of the Chatter summer concert series with music inspired by the exhibition, Trinity: Reflections on the Bomb.


This event has already happened.
Aug 06, 2020
06:00 PM - 07:00 PM


Albuquerque Museum
2000 Mountain Road NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87104


Please join us for live-streamed performances of Chatter, a chamber music ensemble. Live stream details to come. Celebrating the 11th year of Chatter summer concerts at Albuquerque Museum with music inspired by the exhibition, Trinity: Reflections on the Bomb

August 6
Chatter begins our dialogue with the Trinity: Reflections on the Bomb exhibit with a short incipit by Lou Harrison, his Peace Piece Three: Little Song for the Atom Bomb, which imagines the explosion as an aesthetic experience. In the profound desert silence that must have followed the explosion, we hear a tense tranquility, represented here by John Luther Adams' Dark Wind and Anna Thorvaldsdottir's In The Light of Air.

  • Lou Harrison – Peace Piece Three: Little Song on the Atom Bomb
  • John Luther Adams – Dark Wind
  • Anna Thorvaldsdottir – In the Light of Air

August 13
Responses by Japanese and American composers—from the radioactive glow of Dai Fujikura's Poison Mushroom and Perpetual Spring to the refracted light of Toru Takemitsu's Rocking Mirror Daybreak. Chatter will also introduce a tenaciously energetic new composition by James T. Shields, and a spectral arrangement by Luke Gullickson of Bob Dylan's enigmatic nuclear parable Hard Rain.

  • Dai Fujikura – Poison Mushroom
  • Dai Fujikura – Perpetual Spring
  • Toru Takemitsu – Rocking Mirror Daybreak
  • Bob Dylan / arr. Luke Gullickson – Hard Rain arranged for guitar, voice, clarinet + string quartet
  • James T Shields – New Original Composition for quartet, clarinet + string trio

August 20
Chatter offers a percussion program centered on James Tenney's Pika-Don. This powerful work, commissioned by Christopher Shultis and the UNM Percussion Ensemble, is woven through recorded narratives of witnesses to the Trinity test and survivors of the attack on Hiroshima. This direct depiction of nuclear explosions and violence then broadens into reflection on environmental forces, with Jerod Impichchaachaaha' Tate's dramatic Thunder Song for solo timpani and John Luther Adams' Qilyaun for four bass drums—the latter titled after the Iñupiaq word for the shaman's drum, literally translating as "device of power."

  • James Tenney – PIKA-DON
  • Jerod Tate – Thunder
  • John Luther Adams – Qilyaun

August 27 

We look to Cold War musical trends, examining Soviet-era composition through the work of Russian composer Alfred Schnittke (1934-1998), who transformed historical styles (as in his 1972 Suite in the Old Style) into harrowing new languages (the String Trio of 1985) and dramatic new hybrids reflecting a new, post-nuclear world order (the incendiary, eclectic Septet of 1981).

  • Alfred Schnittke – Suite in the Old Style
  • Alfred Schnittke – String Trio
  • Alfred Schnittke – Septet

Details subject to change.

 Visit Chatter's website





Jessica Coyle