This document describes the process your document goes through before it reaches the live server.
- You create a page
- You save the page
- You click "Submit"
- The page is sent to your supervisor or approver for review and approval
- When your supervisor approves the page, it "Goes Live" to the public site. Until your approver selects "Go Live," the page remains on the development server, unavailable to the public.
- You can do all the things a contributor can do in creating and editing content.
- You can also publish content so that it is "live" on the website, or accessible to the public.
- Contributors who do not have publishing permissions will submit work to you for publication. You will receive an email indicating material has been submitted.
- You will need to review the information submitted to you for content and appearance.
- If there are changes to be made, you have two options.
- You can Retract the page and then Edit the material yourself.
- You can Send Back the page to the original author and request certain changes be made.
- If the page is correct, you can Publish it.
Plone vs Contribute
How is this different from the process you're used to in Contribute?
- When your approver logs in to Plone, he or she is notified (via the Review module) that content is awaiting review and approval
- Your approver is responsible for making content public - you will no longer use PEST
- PDFs and images are automatically published to the live site - they do not go through the approval process.