Translate Our Site

Shakespeare on the Plaza

The Vortex Theater and the City of Albuquerque Present Shakespeare on the Plaza.

 

Shakespeare on the Plaza 2017

 

Shakespeare on the Plaza is back! The City of Albuquerque and The Vortex Theatre have joined forces to present Macbeth and Comedy of Errors from June 9-July 2 with Thursday-Sunday shows starting at 7:30 p.m. Civic Plaza will set the scene for this summer’s festival when classical theatre merges with urban Downtown Albuquerque. Come early and enjoy pre-show entertainment while grabbing a bite from a local food truck and relax with a cocktail (bar service on Fridays and Saturdays only).

Information about Shakespeare on the Plaza can also be found here.

Schedule

All shows will start at 7:30. Stay tuned for a schedule of performances. 

  • Friday, June 9 - Comedy of Errors
  • Saturday, June 10 - Macbeth
  • Sunday, June 11 - Comedy of Errors
  • Thursday, June 15 - Macbeth
  • Friday, June 16 - Macbeth
  • Saturday, June 17 - Comedy of Errors
  • Sunday, June 18 - Comedy of Errors
  • Thursday, June 22 - Comedy of Errors
  • Friday, June 23 - Macbeth
  • Saturday, June 24 - Macbeth
  • Sunday, June 25 - Comedy of Errors
  • Thursday, June 29 - Macbeth
  • Friday June 30 - Comedy of Errors
  • Saturday July 1 - Comedy of Errors
  • Sunday, July 2 - Macbeth

Getting There

Albuquerque Civic Plaza is in the heart of historic Downtown, at 5th Street and Marquette Ave NW between City Hall and the Convention Center. The theatre is on the north side of the Plaza.

Parking

Paid parking is available immediately beneath the plaza, and free parking is available in the area.

Theatre Accommodations

Seating is provided, along with concessions, pre-show entertainment, theatrical lighting and sound, and a fully-costumed play of roughly two hours length. It's real theatre.

Stage seating is limited to approximately 180 seats, you can pick up a card to reserve your seat starting at 6 p.m. You are also welcome to bring your own chair and enjoy from the Civic Plaza ground.

Full time security is on hand throughout the show and after you relax into the play, Civic Plaza is a lovely place to be on a summer night.

Pre-Show Entertainment

Come early to enjoy the concession stand and the hi-jinks before every show, starting at 5 p.m. Stay tuned for more information.