Translate Our Site

Unanimous Election for Council President Isaac Benton

The Albuquerque City Council unanimously elected a new President, Vice-President, and Budget Chair on December 1, 2008.

Isaac Benton, District 3, was elected to serve as President of the Council for the next year.

Sally Mayer, District 7, who previously served as Vice-President of the Council from 2006-2007, was elected Vice-President.

Ken Sanchez, District 1, will serve as Committee-of-the-Whole Chair, a position he previously held from 2005-2006.

The Council President presides over council meetings, publicly represents the Council as a whole, and is the lead negotiator with the Mayor. “This is going to be a challenging but exciting year for the City Council,” said President Benton, “and I am looking forward to continuing to work with all of my colleagues on the Council and Mayor Chavez to make sure we do what is fiscally prudent and in the best interest of Albuquerque’s present and future.”