# MEETING MINUTES NORTHEAST AREA COMMUNITY POLICING COUNCIL TUESDAY, JULY 12, 2016 6:30 PM

## NORTH DOMINGO BACA MULTIGENERATIONAL CENTER ALBUQUERQUE, NM

#### In Attendance:

- Annie Onderdonk, Chair
- Detective Christian Baker
- Constance Banuelos
- Lieutenant Joe Burke
- Darlene Couchman
- Dwight Drake
- Officer Simon Drobik
- Bettina Eklund
- Celina Espinoza, APD Communications and Community Outreach Director
- Penny Hoe
- Stacy Oliva
- Eric Olivas
- Troy Taylor
- Brennan Williams
- Dorothy Woodward
- Jessie Lawrence, CABQ Contract Facilitator

Approximately 48 members of the public were in attendance.

### 1. Call to Order, Introduction, and Welcome to NE CPC; Introductions of APD Officers and New Council Members (6:30 – 6:50)

- Approval of Agenda: Voice Vote
- Vote on New Council Members
- Introductions of New Council Members
- Approval of June 2016 Meeting Minutes: Voice Vote

Chairperson Annie Onderdonk called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM and read the Northeast CPC guidelines.

In discussion of the agenda, Annie Onderdonk suggested the addition of "discussion" as part of agenda item #3. Darlene Couchman moved to approve the agenda with the proposed addition. Dwight Drake seconded. The motion passed by voice vote.

Penny Hoe noted several corrections to the June 2016 meeting minutes. First, the header should include the correct date, June 14, 2016. Second, minutes should note that approximately 17 members of the public were in attendance. Third, Penny Hoe made the motion to vote by paper ballot on Troy L. Taylor as a new member of the NE CPC. Darlene Couchman moved to approve the minutes with these corrections. Annie Onderdonk seconded. The motion passed by voice vote.

Penny Hoe made a motion to vote by paper ballot on Bettina Eklund, Stacy Oliva, Eric Olivas, Brennan Williams, and Dorothy Woodward as new members of the NE CPC. (See Attachment A.) Darlene Couchman seconded. The motion passed unanimously. Via paper ballot, CPC council members voted unanimously to approve Brennan Williams and Stacy Oliva as voting board members, and Bettina Eklund, Eric Olivas, and Dorothy Woodward as non-voting board members who will be eligible to vote as soon as their background checks and ride-alongs have been completed.

The five new board members introduced themselves to the meeting participants and spoke about their background and goals for their terms on the NE CPC.

2. **Monthly Report of NE CPC Ad Hoc Committee**: Janet Butts, Facilitator (6:50 – 7:00)

There was no report for July.

3. **APD Crime Stats, Questions From the Public, and Discussion** (7:00 – 8:00, or 8:30 if questions warrant longer discussion)

Meeting participants had a wide-ranging discussion about topics including recent news events, race, police procedures, the role of police in the community, the DOJ settlement agreement, the Thin Blue Line symbol, homelessness, and mental health.

#### 4. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 8:40 PM.

Attachment A: Motion to Vote by Paper Ballot on Bettina Eklund, Stacy Oliva, Eric Olivas, Brennan Williams, and Dorothy Woodward as New Board Members of the Northeast CPC

Whereas -

**Bettina Eklund, Stacy Oliva, Eric Olivas, Brennan Williams,** and **Dorothy Woodward** have fulfilled the residential and legal requirements for an applicant to the CPC;

And whereas --

We the present board of the NE/CPC have viewed their applications and interviewed all five applicants on June 25, 2016, and do find them willing and able to serve on the NE/CPC;

And whereas all five applicants have agreed to participate in the required Citizens Police Academy during their terms of service;

And whereas -

**Brennan Williams** and **Stacy Oliva** have had a ride-along background check and ride-along with an APD officer on **Thursday**, **July 7**, **2016**, and **Saturday**, **July 9**, **2016**, respectively;

Therefore I move we accept and seat tonight

- (1) **Brennan Williams** and **Stacy Oliva** as **Voting Board Members** of the NE Area Community Policing Council, and
- (2) **Bettina Eklund, Eric Olivas**, and **Dorothy Woodward** as **Non-Voting Board Members** of the NE Area Command Community Policing Council who will be eligible to vote as soon as their background checks and ride-alongs have been completed.