Americans with Disability Advisory Council Minutes

Date:Tuesday, July 5, 2022Time:5:30 p.m.Location:Zoom

Council Members Present:

Travis Davis, Chair Diane Mourning Brown, Vice-Chair Manuel Baca Pamela Britton Roger Robb Kerry Houlihan

City Staff Present:

Jordan Vargas, Title II ADA Coordinator Leigh Brunner, Assistant City Attorney Annette Saiz, Minute Taker

Council Members Not Present:

Rand Lara Porter-Park

Members of the Public:

ASL Interpreters Santana Chavez Shannon Garrison

I. Call to Order

a. The meeting was called to order at 5:38 p.m. by Chair Travis Davis.

II. Approval of Agenda

a. Member Manuel Baca moved to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Member Kerry Houlihan. Other council members unanimously approved the motion.

III. Approval of Minutes from June 7, 2022 Meeting

a. Member Manuel Baca moved to approve the June 7, 2022 minutes. The motion was seconded by Member Pamela Britton. Other council members unanimously approved the motion.

IV. Introductions

a. All who were present introduced themselves.

V. Items for Council discussion:

• Presentation on Accessibility and ADA with Roger Robb, New Mexico Commission for Deaf & Hard of Hearing

Mr. Roger Robb shared a power point presentation about his life story and deaf culture. The presentation contained awareness of deaf culture, hearing loss community, different communication varieties, terminology no longer used and terminology that is preferred. Mr. Robb is a Community Education Specialist with the New Mexico Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (NMCDHH). He provides training and presentations that are free. Mr. Robb summarized systemic advocacy, creating vlogs and provided additional details. His contact information is New Mexico Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, 505 Marquette Ave NW, Suite #1550, Albuquerque, NM 87102, cdhh.state.nm.us

Advisory Council Elections

Chair Davis stated he can't run for Vice-Chair. His term ends in October 2022 and has to abstain from being nominated.

<u>Vice-Chair</u>. Manuel Baca was the only nominee for Vice-Chair. Chair Davis called for a roll call vote. All members present unanimously approved Manuel Baca as Vice-Chair.

<u>Chair</u>. Manuel Baca nominated Diane Mourning Brown. Diane Mourning Brown is currently Vice-Chair. Her term ends in October 2022 and will be retiring in September. Chair Davis then nominated Pamela Britton for Chair. Chair Davis called for a roll call vote. All members present unanimously approved Pamela Britton for Chair.

Congratulations to Manny and Pamela for accepting nominations.

VI. New Business and Announcements from Members

- a. Chair Davis indicated no new business or announcements.
- b. Discussions regarding when new Chair and Vice-Chair will be taking office and any trainings available.
- c. Member Roger Robb thanked Travis Davis as Chair for the last year.
- d. Pamela Britton thanked Roger Robb for his presentation.
- e. Chair Davis will meet with elected Chair Pamela Britton and Vice-Chair Manuel Baca.

VII. Public Comment

a. There was no public comment.

VIII. Adjournment

a. Meeting adjourned at 6:26 p.m. by Chair Davis.

Next regularly scheduled ADA Advisory Council Meeting will be Tuesday, August 2, 2022.

Manuel Baca, Vice-Chair

Date