

# ALBUQUERQUE-BERNALILLO COUNTY AIR QUALITY CONTROL BOARD



## MINUTES – April 14, 2010 Regular Meeting Vincent E. Griego Chambers Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Government Center

400 Marquette NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102

#### AQCB MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. Steve Baca (County)

Mr. Jens Deichmann, Chair (County)

Mr. Augustine Grace III (City)

Dr. Margaret Menache, Vice Chair (County)

Mr. Art Sharpe (City)

Mr. Jack Sullivan (City)

Dr. Dona Upson (City)

## **AQCB MEMBERS ABSENT**

Ms. Margaret Nieto, AQCB Secretary, Env.

Health Supervisor, AQD (non-voting)

Mr. Louis Pacias, BCPC Liaison (non-voting)

## **STAFF PRESENT**

Mr. Charles Aragon, Env. Health Specialist, AQD

Mr. Neal Butt, Env. Health Scientist, AQD

Mr. Glen Dennis, Mgr. Vehicle Pollution Mgt.

Div. (VPMD)

Mr. Bill Grantham, Board Attorney

Ms. Adelia Kearny, Deputy City Attorney Ms. Mary Lou Leonard, Acting Director, Env.

Health Dept.

Mr. Fabian Macias, Env. Health Mgr., AQD

Mr. Damon Reyes, Env. Health Supervisor

Mr. Jeff Stonesifer, Env. Health Scientist Mr. Isreal Tavarez, Env. Eng. Mgr., AQD

Ms. Janice Wright, AQCB Liaison, AQD

## **VISITORS PRESENT**

Ms. Kelsey Curran, Sandia National Labs

#### **Minutes**

## **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 5:33 p.m. on April 14, 2010 with seven Board members present. Board Chairman Jens Deichmann presided.

## **Item #1** Approval of the Agenda.

Chairman Deichmann announced that item #9 would be postponed to a later date because the presenter was not available.

A motion was made by Chairman Deichmann to approve the agenda as amended, seconded by Member Sullivan. Motion was carried by a vote of 6-0.

## **Item #2** Approval of the March 10, 2010 Meeting Minutes.

A motion was made to approve the minutes by Member Sharpe, seconded by Vice Chair Menache and the motion was carried by a vote of 6-0.

**Item #3** Introduction of new Board member, Steve Baca (Chair).

Member Baca introduced himself, and expressed appreciation for the Environment Health Department's staff.

## **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment.

## **ACTION ITEMS**

**Item #4** Election of Chair and Vice Chair for 2010-2011.

Chair nomination:

 Nomination of Mr. Jens Deichmann was moved by Member Sharpe, seconded by Member Sullivan.

The vote on Mr. Deichmann's nomination resulted in the following:

For: 6 Against: 0.

Mr. Jens Deichmann was unanimously elected to the position of Chair of the AQCB.

Vice-Chair nomination:

• Nomination of Dr. Margaret Menache was moved by Chairman Deichmann, seconded by Member Sharpe.

The vote on Dr. Menache's nomination resulted in the following:

For: 6, Against: 0.

Dr. Margaret Menache was elected unanimously to the position of Vice-Chair of the AQCB.

(Member Grace arrived at 5:39 p.m.)

Item #5 Election of Board members as non-voting advisory member and alternate to Mid-Region Council of Governments (MRCOG) Transportation Program Task Group (TPTG) and Transportation Coordinating Committee (TCC).

Chairman Deichmann made a motion to elect Member Upson to the position of non-voting advisory member for the MRCOG's TPTG and TCC. There was no second to the motion, but a vote was taken which resulted in a unanimous vote of 7-0. No alternate was selected.

**Item #6** Selection of Board member to serve as Liaison to the Governor's Task Force on Environmental Justice.

Member Sharpe made a motion to nominate Vice Chair Menache for the position of Liaison to the Governor's Task Force on Environmental Justice; motion was seconded by Member Grace, and carried by a unanimous vote of 7-0.

Item #7 AQD Withdrawal of First Amended Petition to Amend 20.11.2 NMAC, *Fees*, Incorporate Portions of Amended 20.11.2 NMAC, into the New Mexico State Implementation Plan for Air Quality and for a Combined Hearing (AQCB Petition No. 2008-3-A).

Mr. Neal Butt, Environmental Health Scientist, presented the Petition Withdrawal and answered questions from the Air Board members. A motion was made by Member Baca to accept the withdrawal of the petition, seconded by Member Upson. The motion was carried by a vote of 7-0.

**REPORTS** Division Report and monthly Air Quality website update. Staff available for questions.

Vice Chair Menache reported meeting with EHD staff regarding the AQD web site.

Item #8 Fugitive Dust Program – Charles Aragon, AQD, Environmental Health Specialist.

Mr. Aragon presented Fugitive Dust, and answered questions from the Board.

Vice Chair Menache requested information regarding monitoring data for the date the bosque wild fire occurred. Mr. Fabian Macias, Environmental Health Manager, stated that a presentation would be forwarded to the Air Board, and if there were any questions he would be available to respond.

**ADJOURNMENT** Chairman Deichmann adjourned the meeting at 6:35 p.m.

**NEXT SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING**: May 12, 2010 5:30 p.m., Vincent E. Griego Chambers, Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Government Center.

SUBMITTED:		READ AND APPROVED:	
Ms. Margaret Nieto	Date	Mr. Jens Deichmann	Date
Board Secretary/Env. Health Supervisor, Control Strategies Section,		Board Chair	
Air Quality Division, Environmental Health Department		Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Air Quality Control Board	