# PART 18: COMMISSION ON DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT

#### § 2-6-18-1 SHORT TITLE.

Sections 2-6-18-1 et seq. may be cited as the "Commission on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Ordinance."

(Ord. 2022-046)

#### § 2-6-18-2 COMPOSITION.

The Commission shall consist of seven voting members who are representative of diverse communities and geographic regions of Albuquerque, along with 14 advisory members. The Commission shall not include any elected city officials. Commission members shall be appointed as follows:

- (A) Seven members shall be appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council as follows:
- (1) Five members representing local or statewide Domestic Violence and/or Sexual Assault prevention organizations, including at least two that provide services in multiple languages; and
  - (2) Two members who have lived experience shall represent the general public.
  - (B) Fourteen non-voting ex officio members designated by agencies and relevant branches of government as follows:
- (1) One non-voting member from the Children, Youth & Families Department of the State of New Mexico (CYFD), appointed by the Governors Cabinet Secretary of CYFD;
- (2) One non-voting member from the Bernalillo County government, appointed by either the Bernalillo County Commission or County Manager;
- (3) One non-voting member from the New Mexico State judiciary appointed by the Chief Justice of the New Mexico Supreme Court;
- (4) One non-voting member from the Bernalillo County District Attorneys Office appointed by the Second Judicial District Attorney;
  - (5) One non-voting member from the Law Offices of the Public Defender appointed by the Second District Public Defender;
  - (6) One non-voting member from the New Mexico Attorney Generals Office appointed by the Attorney General;
- (7) One non-voting member representing a local or statewide non-profit organization that works to protect, promote, and expand the human rights of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families, which provides services/programs that support the advocacy of domestic violence and/or sexual assault survivors with disabilities;
- (8) Four non-voting members, one from each of the following four City of Albuquerque Departments and Offices to be designated by the respective department directors or division manager: Albuquerque Community Safety Department (ACS), Family and Community Services (FCS), Office of Policy (OP), and Office of Equity and Inclusion (OEI);
  - (9) One non-voting member from the Albuquerque Fire Rescue Department (AFR) as follows:
    - (a) The Fire Chief or their designee; and
  - (10) Two non-voting members from the Albuquerque Police Department (APD) as follows:
    - (a) The Chief of Police or their designee; and
    - (b) An APD staff member or Officer within the Special Victims Section appointed by the Chief of Police;
- (C) A member with three unexcused absences in a calendar year shall be excused from further service by the Commission. Vacancies shall be filled for an unexpired term by the original appointing authority.

(Ord. 2022-046; Am. Ord. 2023-025)

## § 2-6-18-3 MEETINGS.

- (A) The Commission shall meet quarterly unless otherwise determined by the Chairperson or requested by four or more voting members.
  - (B) Decisions of the Commission shall be made by a majority vote of those voting members present.
  - (C) Quorum shall consist of four voting members, with at least one city staff ex officio member present.

(Ord. 2022-046)

#### § 2-6-18.4 DUTIES AND POWERS.

The Commission on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault shall:

(A) Facilitate an effective community-wide system of prevention and intervention that is responsive to the needs of domestic violence and sexual assault survivors;

- (B) Advise the Mayor and the City Council concerning community domestic violence and sexual assault issues, including the quality of effectiveness of domestic violence and sexual assault services in Albuquerque;
- (C) Act as a forum for communication, education, and dialogue with Albuquerque residents and persons Involved with domestic violence and sexual assault Issues;
  - (D) Assess and assure that the necessary services, policies, and programs are funded and provided to those in need;
  - (E) Promote a clear understanding of domestic violence and sexual assault, current laws, and resources available in the community;
- (F) Develop a plan that ensures laws on domestic violence are properly implemented and provide training to law enforcement and the judiciary;
  - (G) Support the execution of the recommendations of the Mayor's Domestic Violence Task Force made in February 2021;
- (H) Render an annual report to the Mayor and the City Council of the Commission's work during the preceding year, including the prior year's activities, voting actions, advisory recommendations, how often the Commission met, and its current members;
- (I) Identify gaps in prevention and intervention services and increase coordination among public and private programs and include this information in the annual report; and
  - (J) Evaluate the efficiency, participation, and structure of the Commission every three years.

(Ord. 2022-046)

## **§ 2-6-18-5 INITIAL TERMS.**

- (A) The Mayor shall appoint the first Chairperson and Vice Chairperson for a two-year term. Subsequently, Commissioners shall elect their Chair and Vice Chair annually in October.
- (B) Commissioners shall serve three-year terms and Commissioners shall be limited to two consecutive terms. The seven voting members shall serve staggered terms. The Chair and the Vice Chair, as well as two other voting members, shall serve an initial two-year term with their terms expiring on December 31, 2024. The remaining members will serve three-year initial terms, with their terms expiring on December 31, 2025. The terms of the non-voting ex officio Commissioners representing City departments and partner governmental agencies shall be determined by the appropriate department or governmental agency.

(Ord. 2022-046)