

January 19th, 2023

WHEREAS, disadvantaged and historically under-resourced communities suffer the most from the effects of pollution, climate change and an overall lack of investment in infrastructure and resources necessary to have an environmentally healthy and sustainable community; and

WHEREAS, this reality is not only inhumane causing great harm to the affected communities but also costing billions in damage relief; and

WHEREAS, these same communities pay, on average, 17% or more of their annual incomes for home energy; and

WHEREAS, the goals of a JUST ENERGY TRANSITION are essential to honoring the Paris Climate Agreement; and

WHEREAS, the commitment to a JUST ENERGY TRANSITION has been codified in Federal Policy with the Justice 40 initiative; and

WHEREAS, addressing this disparity must be a high priority for State and Local jurisdictions; and

WHEREAS, the technology, knowledge and skills to effectively address the clean, affordable and sustainable energy needs of marginalized communities is abundantly clear and available; and

WHEREAS, there are demonstrated models for removing barriers to the full inclusion of those most in need and hardest to reach; and

WHEREAS, to achieve a JUST ENERGY TRANSITION we must bring the power and resources of government, business, utilities and communities together with the commitment of policy, practice and finances to urgently and effectively address energy disparities.

BE IT PROCLAIMED THAT THE COUNCIL, THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE, DECLARES JANUARY 19, 2023 ENERGY EQUITY DAY AND COMMIT OUR INTENTION AND RESOURCES TO WORK IN CONCERT WITH COMMUNITIES, ENERGY PROVIDERS AND ENERGY EFFICIENCY IMPLEMENTERS TO ADDRESS ENERGY DISPARITIES

Joine Sanak	~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Louie Sanchez	Isaac Benton
District 1 H. le=	District 2
Klarissa J. Peña	Brook Bassan
District 3 Dan Jan	District 4
Dan Lewis	Patrick Davis, President
District 5	District 6
ch dr	Trudy E. Jone
Tammy Fiebelkorn	Trudy E. Jones
District 7	District 8
Kienee' Straut	
Renée Grout, Vice-President	
District 9	