CITY of ALBUQUERQUE TWENTIETH COUNCIL

COUNCIL BILL NO. <u>R-13-207</u> ENACTMENT NO.

SPONSORED BY: Brad Winter & Rey Garduño

RESOLUTION

2 ESTABLISHING THE AD HOC POLICE OVERSIGHT TASK FORCE; NAMING 3 MEMBERS.

WHEREAS, the Police Oversight ordinance requires periodic evaluations so as to *"undertake a complete evaluation and analysis of the entire Police Oversight Process, and recommend any necessary changes or amendments that would appropriately improve the process."* §9-4-1-11 ROA 1994; and

9 WHEREAS, the City Council believes that the creation of a Police Oversight
10 Task Force is an appropriate first step in bringing expertise to bear on the
11 review of the police oversight process; and

WHEREAS, the City Council recently passed F/S R-13-143 which creates an 13 11-person ad hoc Police Oversight Task Force with membership that should 14 reflect the community and include 5 members of the community at large, a 15 retired APD officer, and members with experience in investigation or 16 prosecution, in non-profit/community groups, in civil liberties, in 17 governmental efficiency; and

WHEREAS, the City recently solicited applications from community
members who would be interested in and qualified to serve on the Task Force;
and

21 WHEREAS, the City received 115 applications from individuals requesting 22 to be selected as members of the Task Force; and

23 WHEREAS, staff has evaluated and recommended to the City Council the

24 following 11 individuals to serve on the Task Force; and

1

- 1 WHEREAS, the City Council agrees that these individuals meet the
- 2 qualifications outlined in F/S R-13-143 and should be appointed to the Task
- 3 Force.
- 4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL, THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE CITY OF
- 5 ALBUQUERQUE:
- 6 Section 1. The following individuals are hereby appointed to the ad hoc
- 7 Police Oversight Task Force created by F/S R-13-143:
- 8 <u>Name</u>
- 9 Mr. Hans Erickson
- 10 Mr. Ralph Arellanes
- 11 Ms. Nancy Koenigsberg
- 12 Mr. Peter Simonson
- 13 Mr. Edmund Perea
- 14 Ms. Frances Armijo
- 15 Mr. Andrew Lipman
- 16 Mr. Craig Loy
- 17 Mr. Alan Wagman
- 18 Ms. Julia Kennedy
 - Mr. Fabrizio Bertoletti

x:\city council\share\cl-staff\legislation\police oversight task force appointments.docx