

Southeast

Community Policing Council

Zoom meeting: February 18, 2021

Approximately 31 members of the public attended, including APD Civilian and Sworn

CPC members present: Ron Halbgewach, Mike Kruchoski, Katherine Turner, Todd Kersting, Kathleen M. Burke, Andres Valdez, Jeffrey Archuleta, Suzy Berg Sanchez.

- I. 6:04 PM, meeting called to order.
- II. 6:06 PM, councilmembers Introduction.
- III. 6:20 PM, presentation, Kelly K. Mensah, CPC Liaison; "Building the CPC Community."
- IV. 6:30 PM, councilmember Turner asked to be marked "absent:" for January meeting.
- V. 6:32 PM, vote to approve agenda approved.
- VI. 6:34 PM, approval of November, '20 agenda.
- VII. 6:37 PM, presentation by Larry Kronen, Attorney; "Community Policing."
- VIII. 6:41 PM, presentation by Pastor David Walker; "Community Policing to Constitutional Policing."
- IX. 6:49 PM, presentation by Interim Chief Harold Medina; "Moving Albuquerque Toward Constitutional Policing."
 - 6:53 PM, Larry Kronen responds on Constitutional Policing and APD's lack of progress
 - Questions from the panel/attendees for Interim Chief Medina
 - 1. 7:00 PM, "What sort of training does APD receive on Constitutional Policing?"
 - 2. 7:03 PM, "How does APD strive to work with different sections of the community?"
- X. 7:12 PM, presentation from Diego Gonzalez, APD Conde Enforcement Specialist, on "Albuquerque Code Enforcement."
- XI. 7:25 PM, questions and discussion with Mr. Gonzalez.
- XII. 7:29 PM, Commander Johnny Yara with SE Command Incident Report.
 - Crimes Against Persons; 81
 - Disorderly Conduct; 43

- Drug Violations; 42
- Weapons Violations; 18
- Homicides; 6 (including 2, Road Rage).
- Use of Force Incidents; 21 including 5 Level One and 16 Level Two.
- XIII. 7:40 PM, New Business
- XIV. 7:41 PM, SE Council Election for Chair
 - 7:41PM, Councilmember Halbegwachs nominates Mike Kruchoski
 - 7:41 PM, Councilmember Valdez nominates Suzy Sanchez Berg
- XV. 7:43 PM, Suzy Berg Sanchez Elected Council Chair.
- XVI. 7:46 PM, SE Council election for Vice Chair,
 - 7:47 PM, Andres Valdez nominates Jeffrey Archuleta as Vice-Chair, he declines nomination
 - 7:47 PM, Jeffrey Archuleta nominates Kathleen Burke as Vice Chair.
 - 7:48 PM, Mike Kruchoski nominates Ron Halbegwachs as Vice Chair.
- XVII. 7:53 PM, Kathleen Burke elected Vice Chair.
- XVIII. 8:01PM, Meeting adjourned.