

Angel Martinez Jr., Director

# Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Air Quality Control Board



# MINUTES –July 13, 2022 Regular Virtual Meeting

### **AQCB MEMBERS PRESENT**

Ms. Lauren Meiklejohn (CITY), Chair Ms. Maxine Paul (CITY), Vice Chair

Dr. Elis Eberlein (CITY)

Dr. Johnnye Lewis (COUNTY)

Ms. Kitty Richards (COUNTY)

# **AQCB MEMBERS ABSENT**

Ms. Judy Calman (COUNTY)
Ms. Elizabeth Reitzel (CITY)

### **AQCB LIAISONS ABSENT**

Ms. Connie Chavez (Bernalillo County

Planning Commission Liaison)

Mr. Joseph Cruz Jr. (City of Albuquerque

Environmental Planning Commission

Liaison)

#### STAFF PRESENT

Ms. Antoinette Sedillo Lopez, AQCB Atty.

Mr. Albert Chang, Asst. City Attorney

Ms. Maria Gallegos, EH Comm. Liaison

Mr. Travis Miller, EH Manager

Ms. Carina Munoz-Dryer, EH Supervisor

Mr. Ken Miller, AQ Reg. Dev. Coord.

Ms. Yvette Garcia, Executive Assistant

Ms. Kelsea Sona, Asst. City Attorney

Mr. Dwayne Salisbury, EH Manager

Ms. Elizabeth Pomo, Sr. EH Scientist

### **STAFF PRESENT (Continued)**

Ms. Lisa Serna-Cordova, Prog. Data Analyst

Ms. Jane Yee, Asst. City Attorney

### MEMBERS of the PUBLIC PRESENT

Ms. Nancy Simmons

Ms. Theresa DuBois

Mr. Eric Jantz

Ms. Maslyn Locke

Ms. Sue Schuurman

Ms. Jazmine Johnston

Mr. Lauro Silva

Mr. David Wood

Mr. Alan Heinz

Mr. David Barber

Ms. Jane Kotovsky

Ms. Jennifer Owen-White

Mr. Alex Hamilton

Ms. Nicole Olonovich

Ms. Marla Painter

Ms. Nora Garcia

Mr. Xavier Barraza

Ms. Rosemary Romero

**Esdot Mills** 

R. Montoya

K. Riley

Stefi

Blane

Due to COVID-19 this meeting was held via Zoom video conference.

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Meiklejohn called the meeting to order at 5:32 p.m.

Members Calman and Reitzel were absent.

# Item # 1 Welcome and brief introduction of new members Drs. Lewis and Eberlein (Chair)

Chair Meiklejohn welcomed new Board members Dr. Johnnye Lewis and Dr. Elis Eberlein and asked them to briefly introduce themselves. Dr. Lewis stated that she is a toxicologist and a professor emerita at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences College of Pharmacy. For the past 20 years she has been doing transdisciplinary, community-partnered research on health effects from exposures to mine waste in indigenous communities. Dr. Eberlein stated that he is an environmental scientist and currently works for the Hanford Nuclear Reservation in Washington State writing environmental permits, including Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) permits.

### Item # 2 Approval of agenda (Chair)

Vice Chair Paul moved to approve the agenda, Member Richards seconded. The motion passed by a vote of -5-0.

## Item # 3 Approval of corrected April 13, 2022 meeting minutes (Chair)

Member Richards requested that the minutes be revised to reflect that she recused herself from discussions about Title VI during the closed meeting session with the Board's attorney (item #10 on the April agenda). Chair Meiklejohn tabled approval of the minutes until the next meeting so the Board can review the changes and Member Richards can verify that her recusal is properly noted.

### Item # 4 Approval of May 11, 2022 meeting minutes (Chair)

Member Richards moved to approve the minutes, Vice Chair Paul seconded. The motion failed by a vote of 3-0, with Members Lewis and Eberlein in abstention. Chair Meiklejohn found that there was no quorum to approve the minutes and tabled them for next month.

### Item # 5 Approval of June 8, 2022 meeting minutes (Chair)

Chair Meiklejohn, anticipating there would not be a quorum to approve the minutes, tabled them for next month.

### **Air Program Report**

Member Richards expressed appreciation for the report EHD put together and asked if a link to the notice of violations information on the Department's website could be added. The meeting was disrupted before EHD could respond, ending the discussion and causing the Chair to adjourn the meeting early.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Meiklejohn adjourned the meeting at 5:53 p.m.

### **NEXT SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING**

SUBMITTED:

DocuSigned by:

Ingu Martinez, Jr. 8/2/2022 | 10:42 AM PDT

SADGE-18F54-D400...

Mr. Angel Martinez Jr.

Date

Director

**Environmental Health Department** 

READ AND APPROVED:

DocuSigned by:

Lauren Meikleyolun 8/3/2022 | 7:11 AM MDT

Ms. Lauren Meiklejohn

Date

Chair

Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Air Quality

Control Board