Translate Our Site

Community Policing Council

Information about the Community Policing Council.

Membership: Apply Today


About Community Policing Councils

Community Policing Councils are designed to foster better policing and community practices and community-police relationships. The six Community Policing Councils in Albuquerque coincide with the six Albuquerque Police area commands.

Map: Albuquerque Police Area Commands

Council Goals

The goal of each Community Policing Council is to engage in candid, detailed and meaningful dialogue between Albuquerque Police and the citizens they serve. Councils are independent from the City and Department. They are encouraged to formally recommend changes to Albuquerque Police Department policies and procedures. They are also asked to make recommendations and identify concerns, problems, successes and opportunities within each area command and for the department as a whole.

Council Membership

Each of the six Community Policing Councils is composed of members from the community and voting members. Voting members must reside within or have businesses within the boundaries of their area command.

All attendees (members) are encouraged to submit recommendations, provide input concerning recommendations, ask questions and submit topics for discussion.

Community Policing Council Meetings

Note: Community Policing Council meeting times and locations can change.

Area Command Meeting Times Meeting Information Member Information
Foothills Command Meets 6 p.m. to 7:50 p.m. on the second Monday of each month. Holiday Park Community Center
11710 Comanche NE
View map
Council Chair: Rod Kontny
([email protected])
Other Members:
  • David Barbour
  • Mark Burton
  • Joe Abbin
  • Carmon Ryals
  • Mickey Hagg
  • Justin Hadrych- Rosier
Northeast Command Meets from 6:30 to 8 p.m. on the second Tuesday of every month. North Domingo Baca Multigenerational Center
7521 Carmel NE
View map
Council Chair: Eric Olivas
([email protected])
Other Members:
  • Brennan Williams
  • Dorothy Woodward
  • Troy Taylor
  • Ane Romero
  • Cassandra Morrison
  • Vicki Williams
Northwest Command Meets from 6 to 8 p.m. on the third Wednesday of every month Don Newton - Taylor Ranch Community Center
4900 Kachina NW
View map
Council Chair: Eric Jackson
([email protected])
Other Members:
  • Jill Greene
  • Eric Nixon
  • Tom Borst
  • Yolanda Sanchez
  • Catherine Trujillo
  • Harold Pope
Southeast Command Meets from 6 to 8 p.m. on the third Thursday of every month. Cesar Chavez Community Center
7505 Kathryn SE
View map
Council Chair: Ron Halbgewachs ([email protected])
Other Members:
  • Todd Kersting
  • Michael Kruchoski
  • Jeffrey Archuleta
  • Kathleen Burke
  • Thomas Dent
  • Zachary Quintero
  • Jeff Holland
  • Andrew Deakyne
Southwest Command Meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. on the second Wednesday of every month. Alamosa Community Center
6900 Gonzales SW

View map

Council Interim Chair: Don Burns ([email protected])
Other Members:
  • Michael Zocholl
  • Jan LaPitz
  • Larry LaPitz
  • John Russo
  • Chris Sedillo
Valley Command Meets from 6 to 7:30 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of every month. Johnny Tapia Community Center at Wells Park
500 Mountain NW
View map
Council Chair: Rowan Wymark ([email protected])
Other Members:
  • Edwina Kiro
  • Farah Council
  • Brendon Jaramillo
  • Ari Posner