Translate Our Site

Mayor Berry Joins a Cohort of the Nation’s Mayors to Talk to Federal Lawmakers in D.C.

Mayors to Push Bipartisan Priorities with Administration & Congress During U.S. Conference of Mayors Leadership Meeting

March 2, 2017

Washington, D.C.On the heels of President Trump’s joint address to Congress, Mayor Richard J. Berry joins other U.S. Mayors in Washington, D.C. for the U.S. Conference of Mayors (USCM) Leadership meeting. Mayor Berry will meet with many federal lawmakers including Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, House Appropriations Committee Chair Rodney Frelinghuysen, House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi and House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Chair Bill Shuster on key issues important to the people of Albuquerque, New Mexico. Topics include, but are not limited to: infrastructure investment, immigration, public safety and the impact of the repeal of the Affordable Care Act. 

Under the leadership  USCM President Oklahoma City Mayor Mick Cornett, USCM Vice President New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu, USCM Second Vice President Columbia (SC) Mayor Stephen Benjamin, Mayor Berry joins a bipartisan delegation of more than 30 mayors who serve in the organization’s leadership will convene for meetings on Capitol Hill today and tomorrow.

Mayor Berry is the Chair of Metro Economies for the U.S. Conference of Mayors and sits on the Advisory Board.

The two-day leadership session will be held at the Capital Hilton hotel and is closed to press coverage. Mayor Berry is available for one-on-one interviews upon request. 

Mayors to attend include (subject to change):

Oklahoma City (OK) Mayor Mick Cornett, USCM President

New Orleans (LA) Mayor Mitch Landrieu, USCM Vice President

Columbia (SC) Mayor Steve Benjamin, USCM Second Vice President

Rochester Hills (MI) Mayor Bryan Barnett

Gresham (OR) Mayor Shane Bemis

Albuquerque (NM) Mayor Richard Berry

District of Columbia Mayor Muriel Bowser

Carmel (IN) Mayor Jim Brainard

Tampa (FL) Mayor Bob Buckhorn

West Sacramento (CA) Mayor Christopher Cabaldon

 Augusta (GA) Mayor Hardie Harris

Racine (WI) Mayor John Dickert

Beaverton (OR) Mayor Denny Doyle

Louisville (KY) Mayor Greg Fisher

Gary (IN) Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson

Bridgeport (CT) Mayor Joseph Ganim

Mesa (AZ) Mayor John Giles

Denver (CO) Mayor Michael Hancock

Burnsville (MN) Mayor Elizabeth Kautz

Plano (TX) Harry Larosiliere

Frisco (TX) Mayor Maher Maso

Hope (NJ) Mayor Timothy McDonough

Sumpter (SC) Mayor Joseph McElveen

New Bedford (MA) Mayor Jonathan Mitchell

Tempe (AZ) Mayor Mark Mitchell

Pembroke Pines (FL) Frank Ortis

Allentown (PA) Mayor Pawlowski

Knoxville (TN) Mayor Madeline Rogero

Santa Barbara (CA) Mayor Helene Schneider

Madison (WI) Mayor Paul Soglin

Tacoma (WA) Mayor Marilyn Strickland

Irving (TX) Mayor Beth Van Duyne

Piscataway (NJ) Brian Wahler

Newton (MA) Mayor Setti Warren

Fontana (CA) Mayor Acquanetta Warren

Dayton (OH) Mayor Nan Whaley



About The United States Conference of Mayors -- The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. There are nearly 1,400 such cities in the country today, and each city is represented in the Conference by its chief elected official, the mayor. Like us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter at