Information about qualifications, disqualifications and open enrollment.
Become a Local Hero
We're looking for professionals who want to be part of a progressive, innovative fire department committed to total quality service. Open Enrollment occurs at the beginning of each year.
The Albuquerque Fire Department does not supply applications for jobs within the fire department. Applications may only be obtained during the Open Enrollment period.
Becoming a Fire Fighter
To be eligible for the Albuquerque Fire Department, applicants must be at least
- 21-years-old (by the end of open enrollment)
- Have High school diploma or GED
- Be a U.S Citizen or Legal Resident
- Possess a current, valid, and permanent State of New Mexico Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) license at the basic level (as a minimum requirement by the close of open enrollment) or higher or the National Registry EMT Paramedic License
To enroll in a EMT Basic Course applicants may contact any New Mexico College or University, such as Central New Mexico Community College or the University of New Mexico's EMS Academy at (505) 272-5757.
Applicants licensed as EMTs in other states can apply for reciprocity as an EMT-Basic in New Mexico by contacting the NM Injury Prevention and EMS Bureau at (505) 476-8200.
Those who successfully pass the written entrance examination, Pack Test, Candidate Physical Ability Test (CPAT) and structure oral board are eligible for selection by the Fire Chief. If selected, applicants must then pass a background investigation and medical exam.
Cadet Disqualification List
Applicant’s must possess a valid driver’s license and out-of-state applicants must obtain a New Mexico driver’s license within 30 days of being hired.
An applicant must not have a noticeable pattern of traffic arrests, citations and/or convictions within the last 3 years. Stop sign violations, red light violations, reckless driving, speeding and careless driving are just a few examples of traffic violations that could disqualify an applicant if he/she has developed a pattern.
An applicant must not have committed any misdemeanor violation within the last 3 years. A misdemeanor violation that an applicant did commit in his/her past, but not within the past 3 years, will be looked at on a case-by-case basis. A felony conviction will automatically disqualify an applicant. An applicant cannot have been convicted of Domestic Violence.
Illegal Drug Usage
An applicant must not have used any illegal drug that would amount to a misdemeanor crime if found in possession within the last 3 years. Also, an applicant must not have a noticeable pattern of illegal drug usage at any time in their background, not necessarily just within the last 3 years. This would include such drugs as: hashish, mushrooms, peyote, steroids, LSD, quaaludes, barbituates, inhalants, poppers and rush.
*Exception: an applicant must not have used marijuana within the last two years.
An applicant must not have used an illegal drug which would amount to a felony crime if found in possession within the last 5 years. This would include such drugs as: cocaine, crack, amphetamines (e.g. speed), methamphetamine (e.g. ecstasy), heroin, morphine, PCP and opium.
Driving While Intoxicated
An applicant will be disqualified if he/she has had a conviction of driving under the influence of alcohol within the last 5 years whether from an administrative sanction by the Motor Vehicle Department, a criminal conviction or a military disciplinary action. In addition, an applicant cannot have committed multiple DWIs within the last 10 years whether by an administrative sanction from the Motor Vehicle Department, a criminal conviction or a military disciplinary action.
An applicant must not have a history of unsatisfactory employment.
An applicant must not have a history or chronic recurring financial problems indicating an unwillingness or inability to live within his/her financial means. An applicant who has filed for bankruptcy will not necessarily disqualify an applicant.
An applicant must not intentionally or unintentionally omit facts during any part of the background investigation.
An applicant must not have committed any act(s) in their background that would indicate a lack of personal integrity or morality on the part of the applicant.
An applicant must have had an honorable discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions.