

# ALBUQUERQUE-BERNALILLO COUNTY AIR QUALITY CONTROL BOARD



# DRAFT MINUTES – December 9, 2009 Regular Meeting Vincent E. Griego Chambers

Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Government Center 400 Marquette NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102

## AQCB MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. James Brinkman (County)

Mr. Jens Deichmann, Chair, (County)

Mr. Augustine Grace III, (City)

Dr. Margaret Menache, Vice Chair, (County)

Mr. Art Sharpe (City)

Mr. Jack Sullivan, (City)

Dr. Dona Upson, (City)

#### **AQCB MEMBERS ABSENT**

Mr. Louis Pacias, BCPC Liaison (non-voting)

### STAFF PRESENT

Mr. Neal Butt, Env. Health Scientist, AQD

Mr. Glen Dennis, Mgr. Vehicle Pollution Mgt.

Div. (VPMD)

Ms. Regan Eyerman, Env. Health Scientist, AQD

Mr. Bill Grantham, Board Attorney

Ms. Adelia Kearny, Deputy City Attorney

Ms. Mary Lou Leonard, Acting Director, Env. Health Dept.

Ticarin Dept.

Mr. Ken Lienemann, Air Monitoring Supervisor

Mr. Fabian Macias, Env. Health Mgr. AQD

Ms. Margaret Nieto, Control Strategies

Supervisor, AOD

Mr. Tom Schifani, Env. Health Scientist, AQD

Mr. Isreal Tavarez, Env. Engineering Mgr. AQD

Ms. Janice Wright, AQCB Liaison, AQD

#### **VISITORS PRESENT**

Ms. Pam Ashley, Stronghurst Neighborhood

Mr. David Benavidez, Monkbridge Gardens NA

Mr. Ian Bezpalho

Mr. Leroy Bruleea, Alameda North Valley Asso.

Mr. Chris Catechis, North Valley Coalition

Mr. Hugh Church, American Lung Asso.

Mr. Matt Cross-Guillen, Bernalillo County

Ms. Kelsey Curran, Sandia National Labs

Senator Dede Feldman, NM Senate Dist. 13

Mr. J.C. Douaire, Stronghurst Neighborhood

Ms. Marcia Finical, Greater Gardner NA

Ms. Jill Gatwood, Greater Gardner NA

Dr. Robert Goldstein

Ms. Patty Grice, Mountain View NA

Mr. Leroy Gurule, Alameda North Valley Asso.

Ms. Susan Johnson, Rio Grande Blvd. NA

Ms. Sharon Karpinski, Greater Gardner NA

Dr. Ilias Kavouras, Desert Research Institute

Mr. Doyle Kimbrough, Rio Grande Blvd. NA

Ms. Loretta Lopez MT/SB

Ms. Lora Lucero

Mr. Jose Madera, GCC

Ms. Katharine Lowey, Greater Gardner NA

Mr. Tom Millington, Greater Gardner NA

Ms. Debbie O'Malley, ABQ City Council, Dist. 2

Ms. Marla Painter, Mountain View NA

Ms. Marlene Perrotte, Near North Valley NA

Mr. Bill Rose, Near North Valley NA

Mr. Nasser Safaei, Stronghurst Neighborhood

Ms. Victoria Sanchez, NM Health Equity Working Group

Mr. Kyle Silfer, Greater Gardner NA

Ms. Marie Smith, Stronghurst Neighborhood

Mr. Robert Smith, Stronghurst Neighborhood

Dr. Kristine Suozzi, NM Health Equity Working Group

Mr. David Wood, Greater Gardner NA

Mr. Tim Van Valen, Brownstein Hyatt Farber

Schreck, LLP

#### **Draft Minutes**

# **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 5:43 p.m. on December 9, 2009 with seven Board members present. Board Chairman Jens Deichmann presided.

**Item #1** Approval of the Agenda.

A motion was made by Member Upson to approve the agenda, seconded by Member Sharpe. Motion was carried by a vote of 7-0.

**Item #2** Approval of the October 14, 2009 Meeting Minutes.

A motion was made to approve the minutes by Member Upson, seconded by Member Sullivan and the motion was carried by a vote of 7-0.

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

Item #3 Introduction of newly appointed Environmental Health Department Acting Director, Mary Lou Leonard

Ms. Leonard introduced herself to the Board, and expressed her gratitude for the service of the Board members.

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

Public comment was made by Mr. Leroy Bruleea regarding traffic pollution near schools.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

**Item #4** AQCB Petition No. 2009-7, Petition for a Hearing on the Merits regarding American Cement Corporation Air Quality Permit #0902-M3

Chairman Deichmann moved to appoint Mr. Bill Grantham as hearing officer and to establish the date, time and location of the hearing, and to direct the hearing clerk to secure a court reporter for the proceedings. The motion was seconded by Member Sharpe, and was carried by a vote of 7-0.

Public comment was made by Mr. David Benavidez, Mr. Chris Catechis, Mr. Matt Cross-Guillen, Senator Dede Feldman, Ms. Marcia Finical, Ms. Patty Grice, Ms. Susan Johnson, Councilor Debbie O'Malley, Ms. Marla Painter, Ms. Marlene Perrotte, Mr. Bill Rose, Mr. Nasser Safaei, Mr. Kyle Silfer, Ms. Marie Smith, Mr. Robert Smith, and Dr. Kristine Suozzi.

Item #5 Resolution #2009-8, Setting the Official List of Regular Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Air Quality Control Board Meetings for the Year 2010

A motion was made to approve Resolution #2009-8 by Chairman Deichmann, seconded by Vice Chair Menache and the motion was carried by a vote of 7-0.

**Item #6** Resolution #2009-9, Determining Reasonable Notice of Public Meetings of the Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Air Quality Control Board

A motion was made to approve Resolution #2009-9 by Chairman Deichmann, seconded by Member Grace and the motion was carried by a vote of 7-0.

**REPORTS** Division Reports provided in writing. Staff available for questions.

The Air Board had no questions.

Item # 7 Community Scale Monitoring Project presentation by Dr. Ilias Kavouras, Desert Research Institute – Fabian Macias, AQD

Mr. Macias explained the community scale air toxic monitoring project his section has completed, and further explained that the risk assessment portion of the project was contracted to Desert Research Institute. Mr. Ken Lienemann, AQD Air Monitoring Supervisor, stated AQD was a part of an EPA pilot project for looking at community scale toxics, and described the different methods that Desert Research Institute used to reach their results. Dr. Kavouras presented the *Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Community Scale Air Toxics Monitoring and Risk Assessment* which concludes that air toxics levels in Albuquerque are in the same range with those measured in other US locations.

Item #8 Monthly Air Quality website update – Isreal Tavarez, AQD

Mr. Tavarez explained that AQD has contacted with a web development firm to update and improve the AQD web site. He explained that the web contractor may interview members of the Board for their input regarding the AQD web site.

**ADJOURNMENT** Chairman Deichmann adjourned the meeting at 8:17 p.m.

**NEXT SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING:** The next board meeting will be on January 13, 2010 at 5:30 p.m. in the Vincent E. Griego Chambers, Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center.

SUBMITTED:		READ AND APPROVED:		
Mr. Isreal Tavarez,	Date	Mr. Jens Deichmann	Date	_
Board Secretary / Environmental Engineering Manager Air Quality Division		Board Chair		
Environmental Health Department		Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Air Quality Control Board		