Featured band of the week: Albuquerque Youth Symphony

The Albuquerque Youth Symphony is featured for the week of January 30, 2012.

AYS Photo Collage

The Albuquerque Youth Symphony is the premier orchestra of the Albuquerque Youth Symphony Program. Gabriel Gordon was hired to conduct our top orchestra following a national search in 2007. Originally from New York City, Gabriel Gordon made his professional conducting debut with the Orchestra of St. Peter by the Sea in 1998, and soon formed the Chamber Orchestra at Tower Hill with players from the New York Philharmonic, the Philadelphia Orchestra and the New Jersey Symphony. He recently was selected as a member of the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra, and is a finalist for the concertmaster position with the Santa Fe Symphony. He has studied with some of the great luminaries of conducting including Kenneth Kiesler, Gustav Meier, Harold Farberman, David Gilbert, and Jonathan Strasser.

Each year this group goes on a concert tour out-of-state, with some years' tours being out of the country. The AYS has previously performed in England, Denmark, Norway, Germany, Austria, Spain, Mexico, Canada & the Czech Republic in addition to Arizona, Nevada, California, Oklahoma, Texas, Florida, Kansas, Maryland & New York and especially 26 communities in New Mexico. For the 2005-2006 season, the AYS toured and performed in Brazil. In 2007, the AYS gave a concerts in Tucson and Flagstaff, AZ. In 2008, the AYS toured the Chicago area, and gave two concerts. In 2009, the AYS travelled to Australia and performed in the Sydney Opera House

AYS alumni perform all over the world in professional and amateur performing groups in addition to earning a living at many other professions. Notable AYS alumni include; Mike Judge (1980 Trombone) -actor/producer/writer (Beavis & Butthead, King of the Hill), Janet Napolitano (1975 Clarinet)-Arizona Governor, & Bobby Shew (1959 Trumpet) - Jazz Trumpeteer.

Past conductors of the AYS since its 1955 inception are; Kurt Fredrickson (deceased), Ted Rush, William Gabbert, Jane Aten, Jay Harris, James Bonnell & Dale Kempter.