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Proposed Amendments to 20.11.2 NMAC, Fees

• Stationary Sources
– Changes basis for application review fee calculations from “potential to emit” 

to “proposed allowable emission rate”.

– Raises application review fees based on increased level of effort required to 
review applications and issue permits (see diagram on next slide).

– Increases annual fees for most stationary source permits from $31/ton to 
$44/ton, which is EPA’s presumptive minimum (based on CPI). 

– Increases annual fees for sources not subject to a $/ton fee from $150 to 
$210 flat rate per year to address the increased effort required.

– Increases annual fees for gasoline dispensing facilities and emergency 
generators from  $250 to $308 flat rate or from  $31/ton to $44/ton. 



Stationary Source Application 
Review Process

Application Package Initial Processing
Log receipt of application/review fees
Provide receipt
Deposit review fees
Electronically scan documents
Assign to permit engineer
Create file folders
Enter into database

Administrative Review 
Determine if application is complete
Request information if needed
Verify air quality requirements
Request modeling review
Conduct modeling review
Rule application complete
Begin technical review
Draft permit
Write and send out complete letter
Request public notice publication
Notify neighborhood associations
Complete review of modeling

Public Comment Period 
Answer questions from pubic
Complete technical review

Verify calculations
Verify air quality requirements

Draft technical review document
Edit draft permit as needed

Permit Decision 
Finalize draft permit 
Review draft permit & technical review document
Edit draft permit as needed
Finalize permit
Conduct review of final permit & review document
Sign final permit
Mail out final permit
Enter information into database
Electronically scan final permit



Proposed Amendments to 20.11.2 NMAC, Fees

• Fugitive Dust Program – adjustments based 
on application of CPI from 2004 to 2010
– Increases fugitive dust construction permit per acre inspection fee 

from $100/acre to $115/acre.

– Increases the fugitive dust programmatic permit annual fee.

– No immediate changes for fugitive dust filing and review fees, but 
CPI adjustments will be applied, effective January 2011. 



Proposed Amendments to 20.11.2 NMAC, Fees

• Asbestos Program

– Fees remain at the current level, but CPI adjustments will be made annually, 
effective January 2011.



Proposed Amendments to 20.11.2 NMAC, Fees

• Expands scope and objectives to be consistent 
with New Mexico Air Quality Control Act. 

• Clarifies refund and appeal processes.

• Going forward, CPI will be applied to all annual 
fees.

• Provides fees to cover the reasonable cost of 
operating our local air quality program.



Proposed Amendments to 20.11.2 NMAC, Fees

See “Summary of Proposed Fee Increases” document for a 
table that summarizes major changes. 



Why are these changes being 
proposed?

1.    Federal and New Mexico laws require or authorize 
(depending on type of permit) collection of fees to 
cover specific costs. Current fees are insufficient and 
resulted in a projected budget deficit in FY/10 of 
$290,780.

For FY11 current fees cover
 68% of Title V program costs and 
 82% of other permitting program costs.



Why are these changes being 
proposed?
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Why are these changes being proposed?

2. In past years, the Fees fund balance has covered program cost 
deficits.  The fund balance is now depleted. 

3. Personnel and operating costs have increased steadily since the 
current fee structures were put in place between 1997 and 2004.

4. Current annual fee/ton rates for stationary sources have not changed 
since 1997;
Application review fees for stationary sources have not changed 
since 2001; 
Fugitive dust fee $/acre rate has not changed since 2001; 
Programmatic fugitive dust annual fees have not changed since 2004. 

5.  To date, fees have not been adjusted for CPI, although CPI 
adjustments are authorized in the Clean Air Act. 



Why are these changes being proposed?

6. Programs have increased in both volume and complexity.

– Federal requirements have increased in stringency, complexity 
and volume.

– Local programs, such as 311 calls and community involvement 
have increased public access to staff which results in higher 
demands on staff.

– Application review process involves more steps for staff and more 
staff than are currently supported by application review fees.



Why are these changes being 
proposed?

7.  To bring scope and objectives sections into conformity 
with language in the New Mexico Air Quality Control Act. 

8. To provide needed clarification of some language and 
procedures.  

9.      To provide funding to cover the reasonable cost of 
operating the Albuquerque-Bernalillo County Air Quality 
program.



How do proposed fees compare with 
those in other jurisdictions? 

See “Annual Emission Fee Comparisons”, attached at end of 
presentation.

It is difficult to make a fair comparison, as jurisdictions vary in source 
types, number of sources, size, density, pollutant challenges, types of 
jurisdictions, basis for calculations, whether other fees are added, 
climate and topography, etc.  This table is our best attempt to compare 
our rates with those of other “comparable” jurisdictions in the southwest.  



Next Steps?

– 6/25 to 7/26/10 Stakeholder Review draft released to stakeholders 
for comments; stakeholder review period is from 
6/25 to 7/26.

– 7/20/10 Stakeholder meeting held to present and 
review proposed draft, ask and respond to 
questions, receive stakeholder input.

– 7/26/10 Stakeholder comments considered and 
incorporated into draft; EPA is notified if any 
changes made to Stakeholder Review draft. 

– 7/18 to 9/18/10 EPA review draft is sent to EPA for review and 
comment.  EPA comments considered and 
incorporated into draft, which then becomes the 
Public Review Draft and the Division’s proposal to 
the Air Quality Control Board (AQCB).



Next Steps?

– 9/28/10 AQD files petition for hearing, including the 
Public Review Draft with Board Hearing Clerk.

– 10/14 to 12/8/10 Public Review Draft released to the public on 
10/14. Public review and comment period from 
10/14 to 12/8.

– 11/23/10 Notice of Intent (NOI) to present technical 
testimony required to be filed with the Board 
Hearing Clerk. 

– 12/8/10 AQCB hears the proposed amendments to 
20.11.2 NMAC, Fees at 5:30 pm during a public 
hearing which will immediately precede the regular 
monthly AQCB meeting.



Proposed Amendments to 20.11.2 NMAC, 
Fees

The proposed increase in fees does not 
expand the program. It allows the Division to:

– collect adequate funds to maintain the program 
at current levels without a budget deficit,

– meet its obligations under the Federal Clean Air 
Act, and

– continue to provide activities that protect the 
public health and the environment.



Annual Emission Fee Comparisons

Air Agency

Year

2003 2010 Notes

Clark County, Nevada $40.00 / Ton $47.70 / Ton

Most like Albuquerque, similar 
source types and pollution 

challenges, county program

Arizona $11.75 / Ton $39.96 / Ton
Collect higher fee during application 

process

Maricopa County, Arizona $11.75 / Ton $38.25 / Ton 
Larger volume of Title V sources as 

revenue base

City of Albuquerque $31.00 / Ton (1997 rate) $31.00 / Ton 

Proposed rate $44 /ton based on 
EPA presumptive minimum 

and program cost need 

New Mexico (outside of Bernalillo 
County)

$10.50 / Ton - Title V Sources $23.07 / Ton - Title V Sources 
Larger volume of Title V sources as 

revenue base

$1,734.00 Flat Rate - Non- 
Title V Sources

Pima County, Arizona

Based on Source Type: Effort based rather than per ton fees

General Permit Type Sources 
(Non-Federal) - $540.00 

- $3,250.00 

Non-Federal Minor to Federal 
Synthetic Minor - 

$560.00 - $11,510.00 

Major Source Examples:

Compressor Station - 
$9,940.00

Cement Plant or Copper 
Smelter - $49,710.00



Application Review Fees for New and Existing Stationary Sources

Source Type Current Rate Proposed Rate % Increase Basis

Equal to or greater than 1 ton/yr and less than 5 tons/yr $        500.00 $                 750.00 50% Effort based

Greater than 5 tons/yr and less than 25 tons/yr $     1,000.00 $              1,500.00 50% Effort based

Greater than 25 tons/yr and less than 50 tons/yr $     2,000.00 $              3,000.00 50% Effort based

Greater than 50 tons/yr and less than 75 tons/yr $     3,000.00 $              4,500.00 50% Effort based

Greater than 75 tons/yr and less than 100 tons/yr $     4,000.00 $              6,000.00 50% Effort based

Greater than 100 tons/yr $     6,000.00 $              7,500.00 25% Effort based

Annual Emission Fees for Major and Non-Major Stationary Sources 

Source Type Current Rate Proposed Rate % Increase Basis 

Sources subject to cost/ton annual emission fee $     31.00 $                   43.83 41%

Program Costs; utilized EPA's presumptive 
minimum rounded from 43.83 to 

44.00/ton

Sources subject to flat annual emission fee $        150.00 $                 185.00 23% Effort Based 

Sources subject to flat annual emission fee for emergency 
generators and fuel dispensing facilities $        250.00 $                 308.00 23% Effort Based

Fugitive Dust Control Permits

Permit Type Current Rate Proposed Rate  % Increase Basis

Construction Permit Inspection Fee $        100.00 $                 115.00 15% Applied CPI from 2004 to 2010

Programmatic Permit - Low Impact $          11.00 $                   13.00 18% Applied CPI from 2004 to 2010

Programmatic Permit - Moderate Impact $          55.00 $                   64.00 16% Applied CPI from 2004 to 2010

Programmatic Permit - High Impact $          99.00 $                 114.00 15% Applied CPI from 2004 to 2010
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